UAD-2 Satellite Firewire

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 Satellite FireWire

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 111 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Russell

February 24, 2016

UAD Octo Card.

I have now finished the HDX upgrade. I bought a UAD Octo card to have as many plugs as I could because UAD is such a great sounding product. So, nothing wrong with the product but, the delay on some of these plugs makes it impossible to use as a recording tool. Mixing yes but from a musicians viewpoint,far to much latency as musicians play in time and plug ins don't. It seems I am stuck with the usual politics between Avid and other brands. After asking many questions about what to buy, it seems that I should have bought an Apollo interface to save latency but of course, this takes away a lot from the idea of having DSP. I feel like I'm stuck between a corporate cross fire here. To sum up, great card, bad politics.

R. Pearce

September 9, 2015

Love the plugins, though way too expensive for the amount of DSP

While I love the sound of the plugins, it is very disappointing how quickly the DSP is used up. The SHARC processors used cost next to nothing and when you compare to the kind of computer you could buy for a couple of quads it is quite astonishing. Would be great if they could also make use of your computers native DSP.

E. Bennett

September 20, 2012

UAD-2 Satellite Duo

The biggest challenge in upgrading my recording studio computer was trying to budget not only for the new computer, but to make sure that I had enough money to upgrade my UAD cards. For 7 years I stayed with my aging Power PC 2.7 GHz, Dual Processor G5 because I had to get the right system with UAD cards.

Thank God for the engineers at UAD who created in 2011 the UAD-2 Satellite platform. This allowed me to purchase a mac mini 2.0 i7 quad core sever and the UAD-2 Satellite for under $2000. This allowed me keep all of the plugin I had grown to depend. My favorites being the EMT Plate 140, Pultec Pro and EQ1, LA2A, and the Neve 88 RS channel strip.

All I can say is thank you UA for another exceptional product. :)

J. Gradwohl

August 10, 2012

The satellite itself works fine and seems to perform very stable.
The biggest issue is the price for all the plugins. Way too expensive compared to native alternatives.

C. Asker

July 30, 2012

Thanks to the awesome UAD-1 trade-in deal, I can now use all my powerful UAD plug-ins on my new iMac with this incredibly solid device. Installation was a breeze, and it works fine and gives me access to even more top-of-the-line plug-ins!
The Satellite unit also enables me to put more emphasis on software instruments, since the CPU is relieved by the firewire driver.

Once again, thanks to Universal Audio for bringing out the best gear in business!

J. Downing

July 12, 2012

As a UAD-1 (two cards) owner with a G5 I was a little skeptical at first about updating to a Macbook Pro and UAD-2 Satellite Duo system with latency performance concerns over firewire. After getting the new system that fear is long gone, it performs beautifully. More than surpasses my old system. Works great with my firewire 400 Tascam FW-1884 audio & control surface with no issues, does not effect plug-in count or performance. I have a full UAD powerhouse that is truly mobile finally. Great job UAD!

Jamie Downing
Gallery Of Voices
www.galleryofvoices.com

T. Leyman

August 14, 2013

unstable hardware

i've found the satellite to be very unstable. Constant error messages if i dare use more than 3 or 4 plugins. Once the errors occur i have to remove all plugins from my project and start again after a full shut down and reboot. The latency on the firewire is too high for tracking too. Shame there is no port for updating the hardware,

I would recommend the pcie cards as i've used them for years. I've found support to be slow though so hopefully you don't have any problems!

Moving to the satellite has been very problematic. I no longer use it and have found native alternatives.

J. Spencer

June 15, 2011

Well I am sure the plugins are great but you should write on the label in big letters; FOR MIXING AND MASTERING ONLY!! NO LIVE TRACKING! Tell me how one uses and Echo on guitar without intuiting the way it sounds... not something you want to add on as with a lot of the plugs. After crashing several times, reinstalling several times, I finally found somewhere deep in the manual that it is recommended for mixing and mastering.
That's just great... I unplugged everything and now it is a nice desk ornament.

When and if you get a thunderbolt interface, I hope you acknowledge all of us who bought (a lot of money) your mixing and mastering program.

I don't care to have my name made public in this review if it is posted.

D. Mizuta

June 7, 2012

I think its to early to have a solid opinion about the product. But I can say the plugins sounds really good, specially Pultec Pro and Fatso Sr.

I got a crash once or twice, just by opening some instances of Fatso. Which was quite weird, because it was a small project... actually i was only making some experiences with the new plugins.

Well, if I can, I would like to make this review in a few weeks. Probably I'll be more aware about this great device.

Dani M.

D. Morgan

March 4, 2017

Thunderbolt II

Yes very good product...no process in Computer...;)

A. Koné

March 3, 2017

UAD-2 Satellite FireWire

It does the job !!!

l. petze

February 28, 2017

Fantastic

I travel with a small setup and leaving my Apollo in my home studio I was really missing my UA Plug-ins. My issue was my Laptop does not have Thunderbolt technology.
So my option was to purchase the UAD 2 Satellite Firewire and that gives me all the UA Plug-ins that I utilize in everything I do.
It's the most convenient way for my situation and I'm extremely happy with this little beast.

T. Fielker

February 23, 2017

Excellent, but..

The Hardware is great. Nicely built, sturdy and everything. Good connectivity with the 400/800 ports on the back. And no need to discuss the sonic excellence that the plug ins provide :-D But i would like to share with you an experience i had with the satellite. I already have a PCIe UAD Quad card installed so i wanted to expand on that. plugged the satellite in ( btw.. installation / registration is super easy and comfortable ). Then when testing it no sound comes out of the speakers.. ( using a Focusrite Saffire LS 56+ octamic plugged into FW 400 PCI card. So the Satellite was plugged into the same FW 400 PCI card which turns out to have not enough bandwidth to handle these devices. So i bought a FW800 PCIe card to connect the satellite, Interface stays as it was on a seperate card and it works. + i can use 100% of the FW 800 bandwith for the satellite which allowes to use the full DSP Power - which you can't if you have to share the bandwidth with any other device. So i would recomend to solely use the Satellite on a port of its own.. otherwise you cannot use all DSP Power - and that would be a shame because - that shit ain't cheap :-D I hope that was understandable :-D

d. guiz

February 12, 2017

Encantado

Encantado con mi nueva UAD.
Tanto por la calidad de los plugins como por el hecho de poder liberar de proceso a mi ordenador del estudio o al portatil cuando me llevo mezclas a casa.

a. possis

February 10, 2017

perfect

it's perfect for my macpro mid2010 with fw800, and rme ff800 with fw800.
Work very well on my system with ableton live.

J. Leal Benitez

February 2, 2017

Excelente producto

Muy estable, potente y fácil instalación.
La mejor herramienta que he comprado desde hace tiempo

A. Glez

January 26, 2017

warmth and transparency

I really like the sound! Gives you warmth and transparency ... precision in many parameters ... I have only a month of having acquired the UAD 2 satellite FW and I already love the plugins

T. Veranta

January 8, 2017

good > great > Universal Audio

I was always wondering, how to get this warm sound, without buying for 10.000 of dollars analog equipment. I never thought that plug ins can make this analog sound. but UA can do it. I worked for years with different products, for example Slate Digital, great plugins but its not the same sound like UA, with UA you will always have an warm analog touch.

It would be great if you could give 2-3 plugins more.

A. Hylander

January 3, 2017

Pure Horse Power

Great power that you can feel, hear and a perfect companion to my Apollo quad!

K. Hankins

November 29, 2016

RUNNING A 16 CORE UAD2 SYSTEM

I decided to break out the Firewire Satellite UAD2 expansion from the box after not plugging it in for several months. My current mix needed more UAD power to run the session in Pro-tools. The installation and upgrade was quick and flawless and now I have more 30% more power to host these amazing plugins from Universal Audio. I've been loving the Unison mode on the Apollo Firewire and recording thru the plugins on my older Mac Pro and the results are beyond phenominal. Finally I can track the synths from a synchronized Mac running Logic 9 into pro-tools and fatten up the sounds they way the should recorded before going to post mixing. The next step for my setup is to route a chain out the Apollo thru my analog EQs, compressors, and filters to get the mix quality I have been dreaming to have. Thank you Universal Audio for making my productions A level.

1-20 of 111 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
View All Reviews