UAD-2 Satellite Firewire

UAD-2 Satellite Firewire

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 Satellite FireWire

Overall Rating

1-20 of 151 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Russell

February 24, 2016

UAD Octo Card.

I have now finished the HDX upgrade. I bought a UAD Octo card to have as many plugs as I could because UAD is such a great sounding product. So, nothing wrong with the product but, the delay on some of these plugs makes it impossible to use as a recording tool. Mixing yes but from a musicians viewpoint,far to much latency as musicians play in time and plug ins don't. It seems I am stuck with the usual politics between Avid and other brands. After asking many questions about what to buy, it seems that I should have bought an Apollo interface to save latency but of course, this takes away a lot from the idea of having DSP. I feel like I'm stuck between a corporate cross fire here. To sum up, great card, bad politics.

R. Pearce

September 9, 2015

Love the plugins, though way too expensive for the amount of DSP

While I love the sound of the plugins, it is very disappointing how quickly the DSP is used up. The SHARC processors used cost next to nothing and when you compare to the kind of computer you could buy for a couple of quads it is quite astonishing. Would be great if they could also make use of your computers native DSP.

E. Bennett

September 20, 2012

UAD-2 Satellite Duo

The biggest challenge in upgrading my recording studio computer was trying to budget not only for the new computer, but to make sure that I had enough money to upgrade my UAD cards. For 7 years I stayed with my aging Power PC 2.7 GHz, Dual Processor G5 because I had to get the right system with UAD cards.

Thank God for the engineers at UAD who created in 2011 the UAD-2 Satellite platform. This allowed me to purchase a mac mini 2.0 i7 quad core sever and the UAD-2 Satellite for under $2000. This allowed me keep all of the plugin I had grown to depend. My favorites being the EMT Plate 140, Pultec Pro and EQ1, LA2A, and the Neve 88 RS channel strip.

All I can say is thank you UA for another exceptional product. :)

J. Gradwohl

August 10, 2012

The satellite itself works fine and seems to perform very stable.
The biggest issue is the price for all the plugins. Way too expensive compared to native alternatives.

C. Asker

July 30, 2012

Thanks to the awesome UAD-1 trade-in deal, I can now use all my powerful UAD plug-ins on my new iMac with this incredibly solid device. Installation was a breeze, and it works fine and gives me access to even more top-of-the-line plug-ins!
The Satellite unit also enables me to put more emphasis on software instruments, since the CPU is relieved by the firewire driver.

Once again, thanks to Universal Audio for bringing out the best gear in business!

J. Downing

July 12, 2012

As a UAD-1 (two cards) owner with a G5 I was a little skeptical at first about updating to a Macbook Pro and UAD-2 Satellite Duo system with latency performance concerns over firewire. After getting the new system that fear is long gone, it performs beautifully. More than surpasses my old system. Works great with my firewire 400 Tascam FW-1884 audio & control surface with no issues, does not effect plug-in count or performance. I have a full UAD powerhouse that is truly mobile finally. Great job UAD!

Jamie Downing
Gallery Of Voices
www.galleryofvoices.com

T. Leyman

August 14, 2013

unstable hardware

i've found the satellite to be very unstable. Constant error messages if i dare use more than 3 or 4 plugins. Once the errors occur i have to remove all plugins from my project and start again after a full shut down and reboot. The latency on the firewire is too high for tracking too. Shame there is no port for updating the hardware,

I would recommend the pcie cards as i've used them for years. I've found support to be slow though so hopefully you don't have any problems!

Moving to the satellite has been very problematic. I no longer use it and have found native alternatives.

J. Spencer

June 15, 2011

Well I am sure the plugins are great but you should write on the label in big letters; FOR MIXING AND MASTERING ONLY!! NO LIVE TRACKING! Tell me how one uses and Echo on guitar without intuiting the way it sounds... not something you want to add on as with a lot of the plugs. After crashing several times, reinstalling several times, I finally found somewhere deep in the manual that it is recommended for mixing and mastering.
That's just great... I unplugged everything and now it is a nice desk ornament.

When and if you get a thunderbolt interface, I hope you acknowledge all of us who bought (a lot of money) your mixing and mastering program.

I don't care to have my name made public in this review if it is posted.

D. Mizuta

June 7, 2012

I think its to early to have a solid opinion about the product. But I can say the plugins sounds really good, specially Pultec Pro and Fatso Sr.

I got a crash once or twice, just by opening some instances of Fatso. Which was quite weird, because it was a small project... actually i was only making some experiences with the new plugins.

Well, if I can, I would like to make this review in a few weeks. Probably I'll be more aware about this great device.

Dani M.

E. Nunez

October 26, 2018

UAD Satellite Quad

Works great and gives me lots of extra headroom to run more plugins. Can also have my UAD plugins for when I travel too.

c. madden

October 10, 2018

Great gear!°

This product opened up some of the most realistic, clean and beautiful sounding plugins I've ever heard it worked with.. wonderful gear.

t. srina

July 10, 2018

UAD-2 Satellite Firewire

I love and impressed

R. Tulloch

July 9, 2018

Still worth it's weight in gold

great little box to have the connections may be old on it but they make thunderbolt to firewire 800 adapters so it's still relevant in 2018 major win for UAD and it's compact size over my other bulky thunderbolt satellite so it's first pick when going on the road only draw back why I gave it 3 stars the SHARC chip are gobbled up fast on it UAD I think it's time for some much powerful SHARC chips

E. Fong

July 5, 2018

Is good

Is good!

M. Canazio

June 16, 2018

Feels like home !!!!

Well, I was never a great fan of plug ins, and I use very few, but recently , working in a studio that offered UAD stuff, I was amazed with some of them, and right now I own a satellite and UAD plug ins and every single one that I explore impresses me quite a bit.... Great Job guys, UAD products are developed by folks with ears.....for music. Thanks

B. Rogers

April 30, 2018

must have device

This makes all the difference in using all the plugins you want. I'm so glad I got in on the deal with the free satellite while it was offered! Great addition to my systems.

M. Czyz

April 22, 2018

Loving UAD's

I honestly enjoy my Apollo and Satellite 2. I like using console with the combination with my digital mixer. I really like my set of plugins and I would definitely recommend Universal Audio to any musician and producer. I like the analog feel of all plugins. I think it is worth investing and I will be looking to expand my plugin library in the near future.

L. Sojli

April 12, 2018

Simply perfect

I took me 2 minutes to install and it works perfectly. It allows my CPU to breathe and my DAW became way more stable and faster. Of course, the plugins are excellent. Why didn't I buy this before ? Thanks Universal Audio and keep rocking.

D. Oprea

April 9, 2018

Happy but not very happy

This is definitely a big help if you have lots of $$$ spending for the good pluggins which I found ridiculously expensive!

B. Stanisic

April 5, 2018

Bobo

The analog studio in a pocket.

1-20 of 151 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8