Ampeg® SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Ampeg® SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Unison Enabled

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampeg SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Overall Rating

1-20 of 176 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

E. Maccoppi

June 11, 2016

Ampeg

It´s the Ampeg SVT-VR, Just like that!

P. Helsdon

March 3, 2016

Done !

I am a studio bassist and have been recording as an engineer since 2008. I own a Trace AH250 which I'd use once in a while for tracking.
I have never been a fan of Ampeg at all, they actually sound completely inferior, especially the clumsy 8x10 stack which is horrendous and doesn't come close to modern boutique cabs like Shroeder etc.

Now, I bought this plug on a whim and noodled around for a while - sounded OK
But when I used it to lay down some proper backing tracks for a modern funk tune this thing exploded!
I couldn't believe how well it fit snuggly in the mix, and without any effort on my end. - no compression, no EQ etc
It just blew my mind, and i used a standard preset with minimal tweaking.

This is a total no-brainer !

G. Vogelsang

January 14, 2016

One stop for Bass

This plugin is everything I have ever wanted in a bass plugin - plus the bonus of no CPU drain. The sounds is killer, I add this and a 1176 and get huge, fat, tight bass sound. And, I don't have to mic anything, drag my head and cab around. I couldn't be happier, best in class, look absolutely no further.

C. vonSneidern

January 13, 2016

Helps mixing bass

Getting a good bass tone is one of more challenging tasks in mixing for me. A good amp emulator is often the solution when dialing in changes to what you've got already, be it a combo of DI and amp.

I've used everything out there I could find. Now that I'm on UAD-2 I am using Ampeg SVT-VR for reamping bass, and it's everything and a bit more, due to the mic modeling. The automatic switching through the various mic/cab options saves you from doing it yourself, which gets you a little more away from expectation bias.

So far I find the tones very heavy and give more than enough heft in the mids and lows- what you're usually trying to get with an amp signal. A combination of this and the UAD dbx 160 compressor brings classic tones.

T. Marrison

December 13, 2015

Better than Amplitube

Long time user of Ashdown bass amps with nice valve stages. This has replaced it for my recording purposes. Great tone and weight, sits well in the mix. Can't wait for them to model the Portaflex!

M. Park

December 9, 2015

Nice emulation

I have an Ampeg PF-500 head with 6X8 Ampeg cab, and the IK Multimedia SVX plugin. This UAD version is different than either of those, and that's a good thing for choices.

What I've noticed is that it's a little light on the bottom end, which is perfect for a busy bass line. The SVX plug and the amp can sound a lot more massive which is also good for other things. The UAD has a more "solid" midrange than the SVX plugin, but the SVX plug can get nastier. In my experience UAD plugs are in general pretty polite :)

So to sum up - nice plugin, totally worth the price of admission. Great on songs where you need more note definition. I'm using it more and more. Slap a UAD Fairchild 670 compressor on it for a great solid sound.

C. Truesdell

August 7, 2015

Awesome.

After years of trying to get good sound out of DI bass tracks I finally came up with a pretty cool plug-in chain that I've been using as a starting point. Yesterday I activated the SVT-VR demo and did some A/B tests: my plug-in chain vs. the SVT-VR. No contest - this thing just completely rules.

J. Moreland

August 6, 2015

Whoa.

I've had trouble mixing 5 string bass parts (and w/ drop D tuners) for as long as I been tracking them. My old workaround (a combination EQ and Multi-band compression) would tame the bottom but leave it unfocused.Then I started this SVT demo 2 days ago. Instant perfect bass sound, no real tweaking necessary. Most of the presets offer different takes on the same theme: big, tight, punchy tone. I can clearly hear every note in the low register of a 5 stringer now. The power soak feature allows you to really push those tubes for added aggression if needed. Listening to a couple mixes on a variety of sound systems confirms what I heard at the studio - perfect, awesome Ampeg character. In under 30 seconds.

M. Julien

August 4, 2015

The best

I record bass for 15 years now,and I tried every plugins and pedals that emulate a bass amp sound. By far, this plugin is the most realistic one.
I played a lot on SVTVR, and I love this amp. This emulation is so close.
Fantastic job.

G. Booker

February 17, 2019

Bass isn't just mud anymore!

This is incredible!!!!! Sounds exactly like a SVT and I should know I had our bassist point one at me for 4 years. I was thinking of getting a bass emulation but was always worried I'd get nothing but mud and buzzzzzzzz, Glad to say UAD found a way to cram a whole lot of love into a bass program. Loving this and I just tapped the surface of what it can do!!!!! Try the demo, now I'm gunning for the 15 watt other Ampeg!!!

T. Glosser

February 15, 2019

Thank You UAD

Still way better than any bass sims that I own.

I. Inkilä

February 14, 2019

Worth it

Great Sounding amp and is my go to plugin for bass demoing. It has lovely break up when pushing the input.

L. Roccatagliati

February 14, 2019

Great on Bass sampled lines

To be honest I'm only using as instert plug, and not as unison, but it's essential on bass line sampled from sample banks. More powerful and real

L. Roccatagliati

February 14, 2019

Great on Bass sampled lines

To be honest I'm only using as instert plug, and not as unison, but it's essential on bass line sampled from sample banks. More powerful and real

M. Gustafson

February 14, 2019

As close as you can get

I am always in awe of what UA is capable of. This amp can bring life to a DI bass or supplement an existing one. I like running synths through it to add a bit of a re amp vibe. Wonderful tool. I have it pulled up against the hardware amp currently and I am impressed.

UAD User

February 11, 2019

Sounds like the real thing

Works great and doesn’t burn through KT-88s!

G. Booker

February 9, 2019

Ampeg SVR-VR Bass Amplifier

WOW!!!! What else is necessary to say. All the hype is true, I hate DI bass, lets get that said now. I'd do anything,... to get a real amp tone, ( and yes I've done it all, even putting the bass amp in my living room upstairs). But this single plug has changed the world for me. Folks just use the demo for 30 days and see for yourself. It's so easy and fun to finally have a plug of this quality that you can rely on a Plug as if it were a real AMP!!!!!! Please try it and if I'm lying I'm dyeing!!!!! I've tried others but this is in a class of its own.

C. Stowell

February 8, 2019

Ampeg SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

I put this in the unison slot of my Apollo X8P and it was a dream. Felt like a was playing an amp being record with fantastic results.

J. De mendonca

February 3, 2019

Helps mixing bass

Long time user of Ashdown bass amps with nice valve stages. This has replaced it for my recording purposes. Great tone and weight, sits well in the mix.

M. Alquati

January 31, 2019

Massimo

Excellent sounding emulation of ampeg bass amplifier!

1-20 of 176 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9