Ampeg® SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Ampeg® SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $149.00

$69.00

You'll Save 53%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $149.00

$69.00

You'll Save 53%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampeg SVT-VR Bass Amplifier

Overall Rating

1-20 of 113 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

E. Maccoppi

June 11, 2016

Ampeg

It´s the Ampeg SVT-VR, Just like that!

P. Helsdon

March 3, 2016

Done !

I am a studio bassist and have been recording as an engineer since 2008. I own a Trace AH250 which I'd use once in a while for tracking.
I have never been a fan of Ampeg at all, they actually sound completely inferior, especially the clumsy 8x10 stack which is horrendous and doesn't come close to modern boutique cabs like Shroeder etc.

Now, I bought this plug on a whim and noodled around for a while - sounded OK
But when I used it to lay down some proper backing tracks for a modern funk tune this thing exploded!
I couldn't believe how well it fit snuggly in the mix, and without any effort on my end. - no compression, no EQ etc
It just blew my mind, and i used a standard preset with minimal tweaking.

This is a total no-brainer !

G. Vogelsang

January 14, 2016

One stop for Bass

This plugin is everything I have ever wanted in a bass plugin - plus the bonus of no CPU drain. The sounds is killer, I add this and a 1176 and get huge, fat, tight bass sound. And, I don't have to mic anything, drag my head and cab around. I couldn't be happier, best in class, look absolutely no further.

C. vonSneidern

January 13, 2016

Helps mixing bass

Getting a good bass tone is one of more challenging tasks in mixing for me. A good amp emulator is often the solution when dialing in changes to what you've got already, be it a combo of DI and amp.

I've used everything out there I could find. Now that I'm on UAD-2 I am using Ampeg SVT-VR for reamping bass, and it's everything and a bit more, due to the mic modeling. The automatic switching through the various mic/cab options saves you from doing it yourself, which gets you a little more away from expectation bias.

So far I find the tones very heavy and give more than enough heft in the mids and lows- what you're usually trying to get with an amp signal. A combination of this and the UAD dbx 160 compressor brings classic tones.

T. Marrison

December 13, 2015

Better than Amplitube

Long time user of Ashdown bass amps with nice valve stages. This has replaced it for my recording purposes. Great tone and weight, sits well in the mix. Can't wait for them to model the Portaflex!

M. Park

December 9, 2015

Nice emulation

I have an Ampeg PF-500 head with 6X8 Ampeg cab, and the IK Multimedia SVX plugin. This UAD version is different than either of those, and that's a good thing for choices.

What I've noticed is that it's a little light on the bottom end, which is perfect for a busy bass line. The SVX plug and the amp can sound a lot more massive which is also good for other things. The UAD has a more "solid" midrange than the SVX plugin, but the SVX plug can get nastier. In my experience UAD plugs are in general pretty polite :)

So to sum up - nice plugin, totally worth the price of admission. Great on songs where you need more note definition. I'm using it more and more. Slap a UAD Fairchild 670 compressor on it for a great solid sound.

C. Truesdell

August 7, 2015

Awesome.

After years of trying to get good sound out of DI bass tracks I finally came up with a pretty cool plug-in chain that I've been using as a starting point. Yesterday I activated the SVT-VR demo and did some A/B tests: my plug-in chain vs. the SVT-VR. No contest - this thing just completely rules.

J. Moreland

August 6, 2015

Whoa.

I've had trouble mixing 5 string bass parts (and w/ drop D tuners) for as long as I been tracking them. My old workaround (a combination EQ and Multi-band compression) would tame the bottom but leave it unfocused.Then I started this SVT demo 2 days ago. Instant perfect bass sound, no real tweaking necessary. Most of the presets offer different takes on the same theme: big, tight, punchy tone. I can clearly hear every note in the low register of a 5 stringer now. The power soak feature allows you to really push those tubes for added aggression if needed. Listening to a couple mixes on a variety of sound systems confirms what I heard at the studio - perfect, awesome Ampeg character. In under 30 seconds.

M. Julien

August 4, 2015

The best

I record bass for 15 years now,and I tried every plugins and pedals that emulate a bass amp sound. By far, this plugin is the most realistic one.
I played a lot on SVTVR, and I love this amp. This emulation is so close.
Fantastic job.

L. Lawrence

December 7, 2017

Bass, how it should sound, where it should sound.

I owned the Ampeg B15N and I demoed this one, which I will buy after writing this review. I used the plugin on previous projects and it just works straight away. Fits perfectly in the mix with no tweaking or very little, and the midrange knob makes a big difference when mixing, with no need to reach for another eq. Just great.

UAD User

November 15, 2017

Just the SVTicket!

I have had a few problems using other plugins that claim to emulate a real SVT but this plug is amazing! Love it!

A. García Cortés

November 13, 2017

Fantastico !!!

Nunca había oido mi viejo hofner con mejor sonido en grabación. Todos los presets son usables. Sale en la mezcla sin necesidad de forzar el volumen y tiene la calidez de un ampli de valvulas real. Fantastico !!!
Un 10 !!!!

B. Tóth

November 8, 2017

Ampeg

I have it with the b15n, both have their unique signature sounds. The best bass amp sim plugins i had pleasure working with ....

A. Lizama

November 2, 2017

Dat fat ampeg sound

Just what I was looking for. I take the balanced out from the amp in my studio into line inputs of the apollo 8, and process the signal with this amazing plugin. The result is a solid, warm sound.

P. Dudzikowski

October 2, 2017

groovy stuff

Well, If you have a lot of fantasy you can get everything you want and it sounds really groovy. I like it!

D. Marshall

September 26, 2017

Sweet tones in the mix

Getting the perfect bass tone is what most dedicated bass players strive for, and many achieve it seemingly, however that perfect tone isn't going to work in every situation and in every mix, after acquiring the Ampeg SVT-VR plugin I couldn't believe how subtle and versatile a tool it would become in my recording process, this thing literally rocks and goes so deep you need a bathysphere!

A. Westin

September 19, 2017

Bass monster

I've tried a lot of different bass plugins to make a DI bass signal come to life and sit in the mix in a natural way. I think my search has ended. Always loved the sound of the SVT bass monster (i'ts no fun to carry around) This is as close as you will ever get to the real thing without breaking your back.

t. appert

August 17, 2017

Convincing

Sounds good enough to pass up using a real amp. Really helps to quickly get a good sound.

G. Herrera

August 14, 2017

My new bass Amp

Can't say one bad thing about this AMPEG, I can count on it for all types of music and has plenty of bottom and high and everything in between, glad I bought it

A. Millsap

July 14, 2017

Insanely Good

This one unit can fit almost any style you throw at it and the deeper controls are all there for those who are tweak happy. Hard to get a bad bass tone with even the worst DI Bass material using this guy. Probably worth getting the bundle seeing as this one is so good.

1-20 of 113 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6