Get 3 months of UAD Spark for 99¢. Extended thru December 31st. Learn More ›

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

Customer Reviews

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Overall Rating

181-200 of 341 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Unbelievably Good!!!

I used work with the original hardware version at Kingston Studio in Brooklyn, NY it was my go to compressor so I remember how it sounds and behaved and UA nailed it!!! The dbx 160 plugin will certainly become apart of every mix I perform from now on!

R. Rajaram

January 15, 2016

Excellent!

As I've come to expect from UA, nothing short of exceptional. Another great sounding emulation of a classic. That snap and vibe have been captured beautifully. Highly recommended.

UAD User

January 15, 2016

DBX160 compressor plug-in

Very easy to use with its three knobs. Great on acoustic guitar. Amazingly close to the original Hardware unit. One of the best all purpose compressor plug-ins I've owned.

F. Cabanillas

December 28, 2015

Andrew Scheps was right

Not remember were i heard Mr Scheps saying it was a great plugin for Kick and Snare....and he was right,just mixed a Reggae album...and the plugin is on every kick and snare on the album....paralell compression worked best for me,but it also works as a track plugin....and not expensive at all

R. Jasman Jr

December 23, 2015

Very underrated plug-in

I have quite a few compression plug-ins now, but I find the dvx 160 to be my go-to compressor for a few things. First snare drum. I've tried them all and for a snare with an SM57 on it this gives it the crack I like. I also use it for vocals as it is super fast and can work wonders for singers with developing mic techniques. Well worth the price.

S. Kamguia

December 16, 2015

dbx 160 compressor

Sounds like the real thing to me. Simple as that. Simple, quick, easy to use and powerful. I don't use it as much as I used to, but it's great. Period.

UAD User

December 13, 2015

DBX COMPRESSOR PLUG

Simple and effective and so cool! Buy it!

K. de Wit

November 29, 2015

Drums yeah

This is a must have compressor for use on Drums. Nothing compares to this.

T. F

November 26, 2015

FAST!!

The fast response is the feature.
It matches a snare, but I don't turn to a kick.

E. Halterman

November 21, 2015

DBX 160 The only Drum Compression ever needed!

Out of all the DBX 160 plugin's this one is by far the best of all companies. Very warm, and with that extra kick in the shorts. This thing lights up my drums every time! This sounds about 97% of the hardware version!

UAD User

November 11, 2015

One of the classics

This by no doubt the closest to the real thing as far as i heard any other plugins. However the big minus with a lot of UAD plugins is they are not scalable and especially the dbx160 plugin is a tiny little thing on a 30 screen of Apple for. I hope that more users are mentioning this point to make the company to move ahead within issue. Very annoying. So 5 stars for sound . and 1 for this poor gui.

UAD User

October 29, 2015

Handy

Punchy.. Even works on mix bus in some situations.. Strange but cool

T. Urban

October 28, 2015

Great Sound. Would love an updated GUI.

Ok, the GUI is only about looks when a client sees the screen. The labels are clear and the plugin functions perfectly. I was surprised that even with the LA2A, 1176, Fairchild, and LA3A, that I would need another compressor. But this has a nice punch for bass and snare. It is also easy to use and really quick. For the price on sale, I couldn't pass it up.

R. Kunz

October 22, 2015

Punched in the gut

This thing has its time and place and when it's fitting, it fits like a glove...
a glove slapping you in the face with every transient fired.

P. Jelfs

October 15, 2015

Nice snap to it - great on snares

Love it, got lots of other compressors but this just gives a certain bite that just works , especially when needing a snare to really snap!

R. Tagirov

September 30, 2015

Great for bass

This is one of my favourite bass compressors.
Pretty good for drum buss as well
Easy to use and definitely 'old school' tool.

J. Thomas

September 29, 2015

A REAL POSITIVE TOOL.

I'm useing my dbx 160 on the kick, bass, and loving it on vocals. it seems to give me the kind of boost and punch that I like in these tracks I'm working on, and still making the the song feel warm.
a very welcome addition to my recordings indeed.

s. simmonds

August 23, 2015

dbx 160 compressor

good hard compression esp good for tightening drum and percussion sounds.

C. vonSneidern

July 28, 2015

dbx 160 for punch

This made playing the bass on the basic tracks FUN. The snap, the punch, the distortion is just right. I have been curious to use this plugin, having used the hardware unit on a session years ago, remembering how well it worked on bass. Rock bass! Have yet to try it on drum anything.

S. Hurtow

June 7, 2015

Simple & Effective

I just bought this plug-in and within minutes of using it on single tracks and the stereo bus, I realized why the dbx 160 is so popular and still regarded as a great compressor. It is so easy to use and has that fantastic, timeless sound. It is simplicity itself: Threshold, Compression and Output. Then there's that 'tried-and-true, old-school' sonic quality to it that most likely is the reason why it still continues to be widely used and is reviewed so favourably. I really like this plug-in. Looking forward to hearing it in action.

181-200 of 341 Results