Fender® '55 Tweed Deluxe

Fender® '55 Tweed Deluxe

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $199.00

$129.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$129.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Fender '55 Tweed Deluxe

Overall Rating

1-20 of 208 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 11

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

D. Weniger

September 27, 2016

Fantastic!

I really do not understand the bad reviews on this Fender '55 plugin. I have owned many amps including Fender and Marshall (still do) and I've gotta say so far all of UAD's amp simulators are really fantastic! Especially the one's designed to work with the (I think it's called) "Unision" technology. This amp is one of them. You have to make sure it's on the INPUT channel, not the INSERTS. This amp is very true to the original and sounds amazing. Ok, so maybe it's a tiny bit off, if it is well...
1. I can't hear the difference
2. Your getting a collection of amps at a fraction of the price compared to buying the real ones.
3. It's professionally mic'd
4. You don't have to deal with maintenance.

m. gilmer

September 16, 2016

As Close As I've Ever Heard

I don't get the bad reviews of it. To each his own I guess. People need to understand that this is a nasty sounding amp with some seriously ugly overtones. And UAD nailed them all! These amps sound amazing in a mix. I've built clones and owned originals of these amps and they are some of the nastiest amps ever. But, in a mix or in a band setting all of those overtones disappear and they are sweet and beautiful little amps. Between this and the Marshalls I've gone over to just using sims now.

If only they would do a 64 deluxe reverb and a Vox AC-30. My collection would be complete.

UAD User

May 29, 2016

Best amp I have ever used, by far.

Three reasons why… First, amp simulations offer many advantages over hardware amps. But all these advantages mean nothing because almost every amp simulation sounds terrible and doesn't respond anything like a real amp.

Reason #2…this is the amp sim that really, really nailed it! Now we have the low price and convenience of software AND the great feel of the original.

Reason #3… this isn't just the best simulation of a classic amp, it's the best simulation of the BEST classic amp. I have the Marshall amp bundle - they're great, but for versatility, nothing beats a Fender, IMO. It's almost impossible to get a bad sound from this amp.

Room for improvement? How 'bout modeling a blackface Twin Reverb? Champ thru a Leslie? Deluxe Reverb?

D. Bryson

May 24, 2016

Best amp sim so far!

The ’55 Tweed Deluxe 5E3 amp sim comes close to a real Tweed. Superior to any other amp sim out there. The feel is there using the Unison slot. Playing with the Jensen P12R speaker selected and using the Line/Normal switch set to Line, I get almost the same clean tones as my real '53 Tweed Deluxe Wide Panel (5C3 circuit) amp. Yes, I was lucky to buy this '53 Tweed that was in a pawn shop in the Northwest a few years ago. The UA plug-in starts to get dirty very early on the volume dial when in the Normal mode. The Line mode fixes this. Between the sim and real amp, the dial settings are very different for similar tones. I’m also guessing that UA used todays normal line voltage (120 to 124v) instead of the 110v AC which existed in the 1950s.

H. Lepisto

May 19, 2016

Blew my socks off!!

I've had amp emulations from Amplitude and they have been..well nice.. But this thing is a total deal breaker. Acts like real tube amp, a Fender amp, microphones behave unbelievably. Amazing work again Universal Audio and Fender! This is the s***!! Two my go to brands everywhere. :)
www.hannuofficial.info

C. Biddle

May 18, 2016

New level

UA got it right. Very nice with the mic choices and speaker options. Very flexible - keeping in mind that it's a tweed Deluxe, which is not exactly known for it's flexibility, but they do a few things very well. Rich clean tone, too. The interactivity between the 2 volumes is there and the dirty grind is just right. Sounds/feels excellent using the Unison slot. I wish we could move the mics back - 121s always sound great at 6-7 inches and I prefer some room sound, but Ocean Way fixes that if you have it. Yes it eats DSP, but it's because it's worth the sound. It's clear UA can do an excellent job with amps, so I have a list of tweeds, browns/blondes and blackface Fenders I'd like to see....

L. Hughes

May 15, 2016

So much better than I expected

As a mix engineer I'm generally not a fan of amp sims. They never seem to deliver particularly clean tones very well. You can just about get away with using them for distortion, but that is MUCH easier to achieve. This is the first sim I've tried (and I've tried many) that I've actually liked. All the others just seem like toys compared to this. Probably not right for every circumstance, but I might just get away without having to mic up and reamp as often.

M. Phillips

May 15, 2016

Great - but very specific

This is definitely the best amp emulation I've heard. The distortion of a great amp is the one thing I've felt a plugin can't pull off but with this plugin I feel like I'm playing through a real amp. I've been panning it hard and playing it over my monitors and it feels like there's an amp in my room! The distortion is amazing!

I will say it's hot and distorts VERY easily. Even with the level turned down as low as possible, I still get little nuggets of distortion on low notes. So I don't think I'll ever use this if I'm looking for something moderately clean. Maybe that's what the amp is really like? And even though the real amp doesn't have it, a spring reverb would have been nice (especially because I can't load this and the Bx20 )

S. Southern

May 10, 2016

tweed Deluxe superb

I've tried a lot of amp sims in the past but none of them have been anywhere near as good as this , yes it does use up a lot of resource on my Apollo twin but I would expect that with something as accurately modelled as this . I'll take one instance of this over 10 of anything else I've tried .

S. Smith

May 3, 2016

Desert Island amp

I hope you never have to choose just one amp to own, but if you do, you could do a whole lot worse than this one! And the plug-in (plus Apollo) feels like plugging into a hardware amp. It's finally gotten beyond circuit emulations, and now it's just about seeing how over-the-top you can cram a single package full of modeling goodness! The mic combinations, the Y-cables, the speaker choices, the preset voicings---you guys just outdid yourselves (to say nothing of the competition) in delivering the goods on this one. This is just plain FUN to play! Even if you own the hardware, I think you'll enjoy owning this emulation.

M. Olsen

July 6, 2016

Gravely Disappointed

This plugin emphasized harmonics so egregiously (particularly noticeable on the low E) that the fundamental pitch on open E couldn't be heard over the octave harmonics. I switched to no plugin and then to IK Amplitube 4 Fender and had no such problems. Then I went to my friend's studio and played through a real classic Fender amp on the same guitar. Still no such problem. There's something really wrong with the behavior of this plugin in either standard or in Unison mode. To me, it's unplayable, and that's coming from someone who is a HUGE UAD fan. I own most of the plugins available on the platform and promote the brand every chance I get.

M. Niemczyk

May 3, 2016

Such a nice simulation but why without pre amp bypass?

This little cobo sounds great and like a real delux.
But please why didn't you add a pre amp on/off switch, like on the brainworx amps, so we could use it wit our own real valve pre amps. Even when on line and with verry little volume there is still pre amp shining thru on top.

UAD User

August 9, 2016

CLIPPING! Unnatural and ugly tone.

I don't get, I really do not get it.
How can there be so many rave reviews for this plugin?

It sounds thin, dull, lifeless and most of all: there is a clipping part to the overdriven tones that has absolutely NO musical correlation to the original signal. Not talking about warm, fuzzy overdive here. The clipping sticks out of the sound like a sore thumb.

And yes I know all about gain structure. I am an audio engineer and have been working on professional productions for over 10years.
I use the plugin through an apollo twin in unison mode so the interface should not be the problem either.

It is almost impossible to get warm, clean tones out of this thing, the clipping starts with the volume set at 1. On a single coil telecaster!

B. LAKE

May 9, 2016

this is the real deal......

...Didntn know till just now that James Santiago was involved with this project ....no wonder it is so BAD ASS!! This is the first UA guitar emulation that can come close to standing up to the quality of Fractal Audio ampsims..

J. Lefler

May 4, 2016

Awesome!!

Wow!!! I've been waiting for UAD to model a Fender and this sounds and feels fantastic!! The subtle sag and purr is super sweet and just perfect!! It's so open and roomy sounding as well. Seriously, for me this is the best amp model yet!!!

P. Williams

June 16, 2016

doesn't cut it

I'm a big fan of a couple of the Marshall simulated amps on the UAD platform -- but maybe that's because I have never owned a classic Marshall amp. However, I have played through a few vintage Deluxe amps, and own a modern clone. This plug-in is a far, far cry from the real thing, and besides not sounding like the real thing, it just doesn't sound good even on its own terms. I'd recommend sticking with the Marshall Bluesbreaker and Plexi sims and save your money for a real Fender amp.

A. PIEDNOEL

May 9, 2016

Don't understand

I've tried this plug in "Fender 55 deluxe" on demo mode and I'm not enthusiastic. Sound really good but impossible to get the sound i'm looking for. How to get a real good clean sound like those used by Hank Marvin or David Gilmour ? Even if the first one use (in the beginning) a Vox amp and the second a Hiwatt amp, Fender amps are usually able to give that sort of sound. Really I don't understand why I can't get it. The closer clean sound i could get is when the bypass switch is on off position... Will wait the next fender amp simulation.. a Fender deluxe reverb 65 ?

M. Huffman

June 12, 2016

I REALLY wanted this plugin to be what it claims to be...

This plugin SUCKS. I'm a major advocate for the UAD platform and I love most of the UAD plugins... but wow. TOTALLY dropped the ball on this one. I wouldn't be so aggressive about making this point if they weren't tooting their own horn. I mean really? this plugin sounds NOTHING like the real thing! This is coming from someone who is obsessed with his audio path and gain structure. Sometimes when I read negative reviews I think "okay but what converters are you going through, what are you monitoring through, what are you comparing it to, etc. I'm telling you now I know what this amp is supposed to sound like because my father had one in the house when I grew up and then he handed it down to me. This plugin is a huge disappointment.

j. castelletti

May 28, 2016

Underwhelmed

Doesn't track particularly well and tone is still very generic. Rapid high notes choke and sputter with the Apollo Twin. I wanted to really like this amp but money would be better spent toward building a clone.

L. Pimentel

May 5, 2016

The Real Deal!

Congrats UA, the great James Santiago and everyone involved on this product. You guys nailed it!

1-20 of 208 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 11
View All Reviews