dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Overall Rating

41-60 of 216 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Zeller

June 13, 2017

The little beast that needs a gui update :)

Very special compressor that provides better punch and sustain at heavier compression than other compressors do. Now I have not heard original more than probably on discs but the most important thing is that what you hear is something that sounds good. GUI update needed !!! Then I think you need to think a little bit outside the box as to which parameters to replicate, it does not necessarily have to be the original. But the sound should be there. THX.

J. Dockerty

May 12, 2017

Smash Those Drums

I love it, it was the one that was on my Final list of Compressors, its beautiful on Kick, Snare, Bass and even the Mixbuss. Well Done Guys.

D. Duarte

April 25, 2017

Sounds good but needs new interface graphics

Sounds very close to the real thing (i have it). The graphics need to be scalable or bigger, as some other UAD plugins.
5 star for the sound. Minus 1 for the graphics.

K. Hansen

April 24, 2017

Awsome!

One of my favorite plugins. I often use it along with the 1176 while recording vocals and acousic guitar and they work very well together.

UAD User

April 3, 2017

It's True What They Say...

It's true what they say...this compressor is unmatched and unbeatable.

e. hartwell

March 22, 2017

aka The Crusher

Ive seen this eq used a few times for crushing drums on a drum crush bus and every time i was blown away. I finally purchased one recently and... I just love plugins with a few features, easy to dial in the right sound, with fantastic results.
Looking to mix drums with some edge to it... dbx 160... do it!

K. Adams

January 14, 2017

Brings the heat!

I have enjoyed experimenting with this plug in, especially drum busses and vocals. Improves the presence of whatever you put it on gives it a sizzle. How's that for technical talk? Very nice auxiliary, something spicy, plug in.

K. Adams

January 14, 2017

Works Every Time!

If the recorded material is good, slapping this compressor on (when needed) does exactly what I want, compressing in such a way to sculpt the sound and set it in the mix right where I want. Every time.

M. Kosacek

January 13, 2017

I only wish it had a parallel/mix control

and I know that's not on the original, but a mix control would be so nice to have. I have another dbx160 plugin that has the mix control, but this one has the punch and smack more like a real hardware unit. so for now I just have to setup a parallel bus when I want that kind of control. Overall really great sounding (love it on drums or bass guitar). Give me the mix control and then I'll give 5 stars! heck maybe even 6!

F. Batiste III

January 6, 2017

Dynamite!

If you want hard hitting drums and thick warm bass. Look no further. The dbx 160 has you covered. Initially I was actually perplexed at how simple the controls are. It's almost like cheating Lol!

l.

January 5, 2017

It's good to add Ambience&Groove increase.

The dbx160 release sustain is a good compressor.
It's good to add Ambience&Groove increase.

https://youtu.be/OUykNZKcA_A (20:35"~22:34")

UAD User

January 4, 2017

AWESOME PLUG !!!!!!!

WORKS MAGIC ON YOUR MIX!

A. Picciafuochi

January 1, 2017

My go to compressor for Kick & Bass

My go to compressor for optimising and shaping of Kick and Bass

J. Banfield

December 26, 2016

Perfect emulation

I have an original 160 I used to use on bass all the time. It is not longer necessary. This plugin responds exactly as expected. I love the simplicity and sound of this compressor. Works great on bass guitar, guitar, and especially electronic beats. Now I can stack it on as many tracks as I desire instead of being limited to on track at a time. I knew what the real deal sounded like, hence why I chose this. Needless to say, I a am not disappointed. A great tool for fattening things up.

M. 403

December 17, 2016

WAVES、NIと比較して

WAVWSのものとNIのものとも比較しましたがUAの160が一番気に入りました。
ハードウェアのコンプに近いアタックとリリースの感触でした。値段も安くおすすめです。

G. Tkalec

December 15, 2016

Bombsh*t!

Snare Drums! You won't believe it!

B. Sullivan

December 14, 2016

My dbx compressors can stay in storage for awhile!

I have 3 hardware dbx compressors that I was thinking about pulling out of storage for my setup. After mixing a session with the UAD plugin version of the 160, they can stay in storage for a while! This plugin is amazing! All of the punch that I've come to know and love from dbx compressors, is ready to go in this plugin! Squashing my kicks and snares, just like old times! And special thanks to Universal Audio for the great coupon....the plugin was on sale at the time, and with coupon, I got it for FREE!!! Looking forward to purchasing more plugins in the future! Peace and blessings!

N. Tamás

December 5, 2016

DBX-160, magic for drums

One of the finest VCA compressors ever built. Has a very simple front panel, so easy to use.
Has rough, warm and grainy punch.
The only problem is that GUI is so tiny... Would love to see an upgraded version with larger front panel.

R. DEWINDT

December 4, 2016

Drum juice.

Excellent on drums

G. Hout

December 4, 2016

Using it sparingly for the difficult sounds

I have bought this one but use it only in combination (parallel or serial) with other comps like Fairchild or 1176. Only gets out of the closet for the difficult sounds (really badly recorded guitars for example). Could live without it.

41-60 of 216 Results