Free UAD Plug-ins with Every Apollo Purchase!

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

Shop huge storewide savings on UAD plug-ins. Extended through 7/22. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

Exclusively for UAD and LUNA Recording System

Regular Price: $449.00

$359.00

You'll Save 20%

Customer Reviews

Magnetic Tape Bundle

Overall Rating

1861-1880 of 2081 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Robins

August 27, 2013

My go to for busses!

This thing is a beast! Sonically it imparts something very special and can really help to glue together tracks on a buss. All the joys of tape without the headaches.

D. Saada

August 27, 2013

Analog sound ITB

I just love this plug... great sound, lots of fun ^^

G. Bucci

August 23, 2013

Ampex mastering 2 bus

I will be honest with you, I started moving away from UAD plug ins as there are lots of great native plug ins. But when UA came out with the Studer, Ampex, Massive Passive, updated and improved 1176, LA2-A, Pultec, Shadow Hills, and Millenium, I came running back.

Regarding the Ampex, I said to myself, I already have the Studer, I don't need another reel to reel plug in. But the character the Ampex puts on a 2 bus is quite different than the Studer. And it sounded so good, that I had to buy it. The Studer is great on individual tracks removing the cold clean digital sound and adding a touch of smoothness. The Ampex adds a cuddly sound to your mix making it sound more pleasing to your ears. I won't master any song without it

H. Krogh

August 23, 2013

Nice One of Two

What can I say. This one works like it should. It warms up mixes, reduces spikes and other things that you could say could also be achieved with a compressor except I doesn't sound like a compressor at all. It's a very clever plugin for the people who are still not completely satisfied with digital recording, and I doubt that anyone who remembers analogue really is. Digital is great for everything except it still need the last 1 or 2 percent to sound as sweet as analogue. This plugin is the cure for that, at least to my ears (and memory).
One of Two refers to the Studer plugin which is also very good but not the same as the Ampeg, I have both.

H. Krogh

August 23, 2013

One of Two

To me this is the kind of plugin that you have to have been around the block a few times to appreciate. What it does is so subtle that you can hardly tell if it's on or not (on some settings) but it makes things sit much better in the mix amd that's a huge quality to me.
I think that this will probably a plugin that I will most likely add to preety much all tracks, or at least groups, until I run out of DSP.
With the One of Two headline I'm of course making a reference to the Ampex plugin which on the surface seem to do pretty much the same. Well I have both and the short answer is they are not :-)

D. Hiett

August 22, 2013

My desert island plugin

If I could only have 1 plugin for the rest of my life, this would be it. By being a little creative you can get so much out of this. And it just sounds so real! I couldn't be happier with this plugin. This is the best tape emulator there is on the market. Buy nice or buy twice, this is the one. My only complaint:

Pitch control. Why is there no pitch control? To be able to slow the tape down, record and then set play back to a higher speed as you can with real tape machines would have been the icing on the cake. But I digress, beyond that feature there is nothing you can't do with this plugin that I like to call "Saturation Island"

M. Hardwick

August 22, 2013

warming!

I use this for the stereo buss and it warms things up quite nicely!

O. Moore

August 20, 2013

Pumping

Ampex ATR-102 I liked for a long time. I was waiting for a profitable time to buy. Compared with Waves Kramer Tape, has a more transparent saturation and very good on the BUS Drum.

A. Varnado

August 15, 2013

"I'm Cold, Please Warm Me Up A Little"

"Great analog saturation" Warm up my tracks just the way I like it, "HOT"! Glad I have this!

C. Tunnessen

August 14, 2013

Wow. So legit

Simply stunning. Ive used this on every mix since purchasing. Incredible sounds from gentle to extreme. Capable of instantly adding clarity and character 2 the low end and that magic sparkle on the top end.

J. Padovani

August 13, 2013

I Love It !

The Studer A800 brings me back to that sound I've been missing.
I could use this baby on almost every track. If I close my eyes, It feels like I have the Studer A800 Machine in my studio. :©)

Thank U Universal Audio
Beautiful7.com

G. Gassert

August 10, 2013

Benefits of tape without the hastle

Blending the analog world with the Digital world is the best for me . even if you side buss these , Its magic .

D. Tartar

August 9, 2013

OMG! I just crapped!

OK...still just demoing but this unit has answered about 90% of the questions I have ever had regarding mastering levels and tonality in recorded audio. Between the "Reproduce" and "Record" level dials on this tape machine you will notice that the Reproduce seems to manage the midrange and the "Record" dial seems to manage the low end. As if that wasn't important enough...along with some deep and subtle compression using the 1176 and Fairchild way below the top end and at different stages in your master you can literally use the tape saturation on this machine to drive your audio up to a full 16 bit. Literally retaining all of your dynamics and making it loud as @@@@! This is the unit folks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D. Tartar

August 9, 2013

Meringue

Am trying the demo as I speak on a current mix I am working up. Changes ~ when I place it on the Master bus? Everything becomes dynamically even. Very slight change in ambient quality except for a boost in the lower midrange which when A/B'd I don't want to live without. If I was asked to describe this hardware insert. (I hate calling plugins "plugins") because it doesn't justify the effort (required for their creation). I would describe it as "Auto level with Meringue". As we know...every processor is one step toward what we want and this is that step. Happy!

B. Tochilin

August 7, 2013

Studer A800 2 Inch Plugin

I purchased this plugin when it came out over a year ago. Right after I purchased it they came out with the Ampex plugin. That was the one I really wanted to run on the 2 track bus. After using this plugin (Studer 800) on the 2 track bus and also after I started the Ampeq 14 day demo I was a little bummed out I did not purchase the Ampeq. A few weeks later I stuck the Studer on every channel of my mix (only the drums & bass tracks) and I was amazed at what it did. About 7 years ago I sold my Otari MTR-90 so I am very familiar with tape machines and how they sound.

If you run this plugin on your drum & bass tracks it just glues them together. There is no need to spend thousands of dollars up keeping your 2" anymore with this plugin.

M. Gutarra

August 6, 2013

Unique tape sound

I got this after hearing all the great reviews by the elite of engineers. The idea is to put it on all tracks above all other plugins. It has different tape heads you can use. I like the sound on certain types of music, not everything. Still, a very good tape emulation.

M. Gutarra

August 6, 2013

Sounds good

Good tape emulation with options. Wouldnt use it on everything. But when used, it's good.

O. Hartmann

July 31, 2013

a must for the bus

i use it on the bus for synths and vocal and it gives the sound this nice saturation and is glouing the things together. It´s magic.

D. Medvedev

July 31, 2013

The first sample

Hi! Slowly prazbirayus with this device. One thing I can tell he's doing his job. Although not all the tracks it can be applied, it is necessary to accurately represent what you want to get to the finish. In general, good!

A. Perez

July 26, 2013

Ampex Utilities

Dear:
thanks for your request,
can i use this plug in mono channel? or is only for stereo channels?
is only for mastering?
what is the difference between the studer A600 and Ampex?
thanks

1861-1880 of 2081 Results