Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

61-80 of 574 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Martinez del Rio

January 14, 2018

That tape sound...

Everything just sounds better through the Ampex ...

E. Halterman

January 13, 2018

Original vs. plugin!

This is on every mix, in my mix bus chain. I was blessed to mix down with the original Ampex ATR-102 hardware and this plugin, gets as close to that vibe as you can get.... the best UAD plugin to have in your DAW!

J. Mack

January 11, 2018


A weapon of choice for tape emulation. Add to any source and tweak to your hearts content. from fattening up lows, gluing and gelling multiple sources to subtle or drastic tone shaping . I've found a lot of uses for the Ampex where the results have been fantastic and easy to achieve. Its well worth learning this plugs capabilities inside out to unleash its potential

T. Turak

January 9, 2018

Ampex ATR-102

Great tape plug-in

B. Ökrös

January 5, 2018

My Favorite Weapon!

It gives all the music its cohesion and gives incredible beautiful, unique character to the sounds! I love it!

R. Invernizzi

January 3, 2018

Best tape emulator of all!

I've used many tape emulators... but this one is of another league! The sound, the features, the color that gives to single tracks, or bus, is something that ones you try you can't work without.

Very powerful for mastering your music! An amazing tool!

T. Catlin

December 8, 2017


This plugin is on every session.
Master bus, stems, special effects. Probably the best tape sim out there. Love it.

M. Kramer

December 4, 2017

Gives my mixes that warm and authentic sound

I recently picked up the ATR-102, it is by far the best tape emulation plugin I have ever heard! With the option for 30 IPS the sound can be very clean but it still has that beautiful warm and authentic sound. Universal Audio did an amazing job, this will be on my master bus from now on!

T. Spaniel

December 1, 2017


Best Tape Maschine plug in for Mastering.

K. Schuster

November 28, 2017

Never thought... was so important to have a tape in the master bus. I did it and I couldn't understand what happened to my sound: that's it, I thought! and was amazed about the special spirit you get with it - never without tape!

M. Buzniak

November 27, 2017

I was a bit skeptical but...

I was a bit skeptical but I got to say that this is so working for me. Very, very inspiring and very east to get great results. It's not simple - it has a ton of "under the hood" features and if that's your thing you can even manually calibrate it like the real machine but if you wan't a quick results just throw it on your mixbus and click through different tape formulas for different flavours. I find this particularly inspiring during the mix process as this can sometime lead me to some cool directions with my eq decisions.

D. Pierce

November 14, 2017


Great for mastering but also works on drums, ambients sounds, and has delay options, crossover options, and noise options. Love it!

K. Kofron

November 13, 2017


I enjoy what I can
do to a track with this plug-in.

P. Backman

November 5, 2017

Sounds Great

It sounds like real tape to me.

D. Keown

October 20, 2017

My "must have" plugin.

My mix just doesn't sound finished until this juicy bad boy is on my master bus. I have all the other tape plugins and the AMPEX sounds the best, HANDS DOWN.

UAD User

October 17, 2017

Fantastic Tape Emulation, unique sound

After having tried the demo of the ATR-102 several times.. I had no choice but to buy it when I got the chance. It does SOMETHING that no other plugin can do, bringing the perfect amount of glue, compression, cohesiveness, and harmonic enhancement to either individual tracks of the whole mix. I would recommend getting this one first over the STUDER, but they are both very good. Amazing plugin!

UAD User

October 16, 2017


I love the life this plug-in brings into my tracks! Putting the Studer on my individual tracks and this on the master gives an amazing sound! Great job on this one!

K. Gilroy

October 7, 2017

Ampex ATR-102 is the Best! No Question!

I’ve used the real deal. Whenever I load the plug I wanna align the machine… It’s funny. I guess it just seems that real. I have other tape emulation plug-ins and the UAD smokes em all. When you decided to slap it on the end of a mix it’ll shock you every time and you'll wonder why you didn’t add it on sooner. This is absolutley one of my desert island plug-ins. Play with the high-end adjustments. Try it with the noise in and out too. The Ampex is the best tape emulator I’ve used and I bet it’ll be yours too! Great job UA! It's really one there very best! GET IT! - Gilroy

A. Palomo Torres

October 1, 2017

Definitely one of the indispensable plugins to acquire!

It has served me well to give that great final color to my recent productions for short films, and also to emulate the sound of some films around the 60s - 70s.

T. Poole

September 14, 2017

game changer

Kind of wondering if I could give mastering my own stuff a shot now given how GREAT this ATR-102 sounds on the mix buss. Everything is instantly more 3D with wonderful clarity.

61-80 of 574 Results