Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

61-80 of 585 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. DIAMOND

March 9, 2018

Magic

A very simple plugin to use yet makes a mix come alive.Adds some magic mojo that opens up a mix that eq or compression can not do,another winner

D. Wilson

March 6, 2018

Ampex Sound

The Ampex ATR-102 plugin is great for mastering. I really like the analog sound of the tape and the ease of use. I have been using the Ampex plugin on all my mixes since I got it.

J. GIBELY

March 2, 2018

excellent !!!

la meilleure émulation a bande sur le marché avec le studer a 800

H. Zimmerman

February 24, 2018

By far the best tape emulator

I have a huge range of tape emulation plugins, but this one is definitely at the number one position. Instant success when I use it to warm up an entire mix. So great to be able to run such an intricate plugin on a DSP. And I have yet to explore the gazillion possibilities of this baby.

P. Alves

February 20, 2018

Colorfull sounding emulation

One of the best tape emulations on the market!
Wide variety of vintage tones for buses, channels or mastering.

L. Colan

February 3, 2018

Take the time to experiment ... and use more than one ....!

I wasn't going to write a review, but now that I've owned this plugin for a few months I thought I'd reach out to those that don't own it and say this ... If you decide to demo this plugin with a view to buying it you'll only have 14 days to demo it (pleading phone calls aside etc etc). I would suggest lining up a bunch of tracks and then doing the following:

Check your levels - Don't send the tracks too hot to the Ampex .. leave yourself some headroom and this may mean that the defaults are running too hot to for your tunes to begin with. Working out where in your compression chain to place the Ampex is a matter of taste and program material. The manual suggests at the very end of the chain - I disagree.

Read the manual - understand that there are shades of colour all over the place on the GUI of this plugin .. from input gain to transformer, from EQ types to Bias settings .. don't write off what things like crosstalk etc can actually do .. the results are subtle BUT cumulative.

Spend a few days going back and forth between mixes - the different vibes that the Ampex can impart to your tunes is subtle BUT massive. It takes time to work out where the Ampex can take your tunes and those enhancements further.

Don't get too wound up by the Bias controls GUI when using a mouse etc etc .. THEY ARE DREADFUL ... BUT ... with a little practice zoning in on the control you'll be glad your not using a screw driver whilst crouched on the floor behind the machine in a different room from the Monitors ... you could almost forgive UAD for inflicting just a little of that pain.

It's a STUNNING piece of software and a massive achievement.
ENJOY.

D. Rouge

February 1, 2018

Amazing sound

Nice edge to bass and punchy saturation. Perfect on the mix bus!

D. Schoenfeld

January 17, 2018

Amazing

How did I do before buying this plugin? And why I bought only this only now. Coloring and warming the track in such a nice way and smooth way. Definitely my go to plugin for my mastering process. Congrats UA

P. Kostov

January 16, 2018

Mastering master

Using it on the whole mix or when i'm in mastering session it makes every sound to fit in place with specific contour - just what i needed! Especially extending the lowend!

J. McCormack

January 15, 2018

Personal favourite

Effects, mask, time travel, master, glue, buff, crush, destroy. Love it all

F. Blue

January 14, 2018

yea it's amazing...

well, i do have the waves abbey road one.. and a few others.. but.. it's just better. A lot better lol.

A. Martinez del Rio

January 14, 2018

That tape sound...

Everything just sounds better through the Ampex ...

E. Halterman

January 13, 2018

Original vs. plugin!

This is on every mix, in my mix bus chain. I was blessed to mix down with the original Ampex ATR-102 hardware and this plugin, gets as close to that vibe as you can get.... the best UAD plugin to have in your DAW!

J. Mack

January 11, 2018

Sauce!

A weapon of choice for tape emulation. Add to any source and tweak to your hearts content. from fattening up lows, gluing and gelling multiple sources to subtle or drastic tone shaping . I've found a lot of uses for the Ampex where the results have been fantastic and easy to achieve. Its well worth learning this plugs capabilities inside out to unleash its potential

T. Turak

January 9, 2018

Ampex ATR-102

Great tape plug-in

B. Ökrös

January 5, 2018

My Favorite Weapon!

It gives all the music its cohesion and gives incredible beautiful, unique character to the sounds! I love it!

R. Invernizzi

January 3, 2018

Best tape emulator of all!

I've used many tape emulators... but this one is of another league! The sound, the features, the color that gives to single tracks, or bus, is something that ones you try you can't work without.

Very powerful for mastering your music! An amazing tool!

T. Catlin

December 8, 2017

Indispensable.

This plugin is on every session.
Master bus, stems, special effects. Probably the best tape sim out there. Love it.

M. Kramer

December 4, 2017

Gives my mixes that warm and authentic sound

I recently picked up the ATR-102, it is by far the best tape emulation plugin I have ever heard! With the option for 30 IPS the sound can be very clean but it still has that beautiful warm and authentic sound. Universal Audio did an amazing job, this will be on my master bus from now on!

T. Spaniel

December 1, 2017

ATR-102

Best Tape Maschine plug in for Mastering.

61-80 of 585 Results