Apollo Solo

Apollo Solo

Customer Reviews

Apollo Solo

Overall Rating

1-20 of 35 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. V

November 28, 2020

Stops working after 20 minutes

Constantly stops working after 20 minutes likely because it can't get enough power from my computer. The only way to get it to work again is to reboot my computer. I should have got the usb version because the bus powered version constantly causes lag in Ableton with only 10%CPU being used. I have a brand new macbook pro and 32 GB of RAM so it's not my system. I really wish I was told that even with a brand new computer, the thunderbolt Apollo Solo might not get enough power

S. Lim

November 24, 2020

Great and flexible

Great little unit for vocal production!! The portability and the ease of use couple with unison plugins means you can have great preamps in your pocket all the time !!

E. Marshall

November 22, 2020

Great piece of hardware

The hardware works great , the plug ins are awesome , not so keen on the software, but the compatibility issues are plenty right now with so many differing methods of connecting the device. I first sought to use it with my MacBook Pro laptop ,but an older version that only had thunderbolt 2.
Long story short, make sure you have thunderbolt 3. A thunderbolt cable ( it doesn’t come with one) and a mac that isn’t running on Big Sur. At this point they are not compatible. So when i first set out to make my capabilities simpler has turned into something really difficult, so I returned the Apollo. And I will probably purchase another one after the software becomes compatible. All the best to you all

M. Leonardi

November 17, 2020

Cable Tunderbolt

Dommage qu'un le câble Tunderbolt ne soit pas fournit avec la carte son, vu le prix ils auraient au moins pu mettre un Tunderbolt 3 vers USB 2.0 .
Je n'ai pas pu encore tester le matériel car le câble que j'ai commandé sur Amazon n'est pas arrivé, mais je n'hésiterai pas a rédiger un avis positif si l'Apollo Solo me plais. Sinon le design est super, belles finitions et matériaux robuste. Hâte de tester !

E. Dobias

November 12, 2020

50/50

It sounds great but adds a lot of unnecessary complications when it comes to just plugging in and recording. DSP used up with anything more than “simple” plugins like la-2a and the whole console app gets in the way and I’m not sure why it’s needed to carry out simple monitoring or using plugin inserts (done by DAW already). I get that it’s for unison and zero latency but it’s not really useful when you only get enough dsp for a few plugins (usually only one of the channel strips) at a time which any DAW can do without all the extra hassle and multiple programs running. Plugins sound better than waves but at 10x cost so it’s like paying for the actual gear then getting to have the complications of using that gear in a real studio except now the complications are just “in the box”. Also I already payed for it but am constantly reminded how much more stuff I could pay for to get that analog sound that is made digitally. It’s mostly great as long as you have people around to tell how “warm” it sounds and watch them say it’s just like the old tape sound, but if you’re alone you just have an interface and a 2+ gigabyte software to allow you to monitor and add only UAD plugins (for trial period) to tracks then route them to another software in near zero latency. LUNA would be cool for someone without a DAW but it offers nothing new besides an overly colorful interface and lots of crashing. I think this is not where the focus should be cause the hardware is excellent but the software is generic and just gets in the way and it’s not really doing anything since running one or two plugins always has near zero latency in any DAW and to run more you need to buy more UA products for extra processing power. I also made sure to have a thunderbolt cable but the fact that the product doesn’t come with the very thing needed to operate pretty much explains everything and is how the product works overall (so much focus on namedropping gear but forgetting to make sure the actual gear works).

J. Medal

November 7, 2020

Absolutely Great.

Couldn’t be more pleased with the people over at UA for this. Needed something that sounded great and was portable. The endless options this interface allows users is unmatched. Would strongly recommend to anyone considering.

Y. Shevchenko

November 7, 2020

That's amazing!

That's product wondering me to capture a video of unboxing and short look! I named it:
"A $1000 recording set: Shure KSM32 and Apollo Solo"
https://youtu.be/uovSOIMmYks

K. flavell

October 30, 2020

Best I've had

I've tried many interfaces over the years , budget ones and some that I would class as above the budget price range , this is the best I've used and is more than up to the job for my needs...unison preamps are great but the standard preamps without using unison sound great too..great stuff.

F. Quirola

October 26, 2020

Great!

Definitely a workhorse and opens a new world full of creative possibilities

F. Bueno

October 22, 2020

First gear from UAD : it’s AWESOME

First gear from UAD and it’s awesome. I love the portability no need of an external powersupply. A second dsp will be helpfull for some hungry plugin chains with dsp pairing. I ‘m going to invest on an octo satellite to have more power when arranging and mixing. Great job UAD

J. Landhaug

October 21, 2020

Love my apollo's

Now I own an Apollo X 8P, An Apollo Twin (second generation) and now the Apollo Solo.
Started with the Silver Quad that i sold second hand. I'm at home with UAD and could'nt be happier:)

D. Hall

October 21, 2020

Solo : Versatile and Incredible Sounding

I've only had the product for a day and a half but it's been a revelation — and having started to record with it I know there's no going back. The set up was easy as was routing audio from Logic to track to. The Unison preamp technology is remarkable and sounds amazing — it takes the incoming signal and let's me tweak it. It's a game changer. I purchased the Solo to print tracks directly into Logic so I've had no issues re: DSP capacity. But I think the real wow factor is the lack of latency using the UA DSP / onboard processing. I used to turn on Low Latency Mode in Logic and deal with all the shortcomings of that approach when tracking. With the Apollo Solo the response is shockingly immediate — it's the most natural tracking experience I've ever had. Remarkable. BTW - the default plug-in set is good — I was surprised by the quality of the default bundle. The UA 610-B is great as are the compressors, and Precision Channel Strip. Absolutely zero regrets — this step up to the UA eco-system is just what I was looking for.

L. Johnson

October 19, 2020

Sounds amazing

As a adult learner studying music theory and avid music enthusiast the Solo is the perfect interface. I will never use it to its full capability, but for using notation software, a midi controller, a microphone, and my bass I can compose songs, which has proven elusive with any number of combinations of equipment I have owned previously.

The unit is solidly built and very easy to use. At some point I will learn to use Luna.

A. Taylor

October 17, 2020

Amazing!

Amazing piece of gear. Sounds amazing and looks amazing. Only thing I would have included is a power button for the interface So your able to switch it on and off easily.

A. Dalami

October 13, 2020

Accessibility issue

I am a visually impaired user and I must say that Unfortunately, the software is not accessible/compatible with screen readers such as voiceover on Mac.
it is so frustrating that I’m not able to use the unison technology or Uad plugins.
I would love to hear from a developer regarding this issue

J. Greder

October 10, 2020

USB Apollo Solo

This is a definite upgrade from my 3rd gen Scarlett in every regard. If the I/O suits your needs like it does mine I can’t imagine you can do any better than this in this price range as far as quality of components. Fit and finish are excellent. The preamps are superb and are beyond adequate to make great sounding recordings. The outputs are also very well spec’d. Drives my HD650 headphones wonderfully. Truly a professional product and I’m extremely satisfied.

B. Jarrell

October 9, 2020

Fuck yeah

Shits dope as fuck. I’m straight laying down fire as fuck metal riffs while laying in bed using this beast. This things got so much power I have to call NASA to get permission to turn it on. Get wit this!

A. Boonchued

October 4, 2020

Perfect for me

Everything Perfect for me

M. Vogel

October 1, 2020

Great Sound

Beautiful sound for my voice over work and easy to use. The included plugins are very nice.

P. NONCENT

September 29, 2020

Petite mais puissante

L’avenir du home studio voir du studio pro aujourd’hui c’est le software ! Achetée pour des prises de voix, ce petit boîtier est violent. Ce ne sont pas des contes de fées, la technologie UNISON est redoutable d’efficacité. Moi qui recherchais le préampli micro approprié je suis servi. Je sors d’une RME fireface UC et l’expérience UA est bien meilleure notamment pour le materiel-logiciel software. Un seul processeur suffit pour des prises de voix. Franchement bravo !!!

1-20 of 35 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2