Apollo Twin USB

Apollo Twin USB

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

Overall Rating

181-200 of 273 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Pollien

January 9, 2017

Great sounding interface

For two months I have been using it, I have improved my mixes, which have become more articulated, clearer, punchier, better in all!!! The interface is also well designed, beautiful and convenient. In short, I'm still in my honeymoon period. :love:

M. Dacian Alin

December 23, 2016

”Evrika!” Apollo, my little beast, arrived! :)

If we want to talk about a transparent good sound, then we can talk about Apollo, without any mistake. Apollo is a marvelous gear.

+
From first look, Apollo should be recommended for the great ability to play pure sound. Notable: Any bad mix is easily heard with Apollo. What is bad, sounds realy badly and what is good, simply sounds good or very good. So, he does his job, as I expected.

-
The Console is a nice tool, fluid interface and easy to use.. but..
Is like I want some more (functionality) in it.

Yet, my little Apollo it is fresh and under testing. And my UAD plugins also.
I will be back for a more detailed review.

G. Artime Carbajal

December 20, 2016

Very good tool, could be improved at this date.

-Very easy to install , to register and TO WORK in win10 under a very affordable pc (asus H110A plate,i3 3,7Ghz chip, 16Gb ram at 2133Mhz, non ssd hardisks). About UA Twin USB software, all works more than perfect in this pc, so, very happy in this point.
- Sound recording is clear and natural, warm under unison (like some analog feel/emu) with a nice dynamic range, so mic/line preamps and Hi z input seems to work perfect there, the AD conversion could be improved/rised to a new generation of converters (same as the new black apollo rack units), I mean, Is not bad sounding, of course not, but this units mounts 2013-2014 gen converters, and this is why I dont give 5 stars to this unit today, ending 2016 card should be improved with new-gen of converters.
- Sound editing and playing (DA conversion vía monitor outs and hp out) same, nice sound, but DA conversion could be improved for nowadays and this interface price range to be honest.
-Plug ins are very good developed visually and sonically, looks like they are very expensive, but you can get them under UA deals all over the year, so, they could be cheaper, but if you think about it they are really not so expensive like they looks like.
- Hardware, the units looks like "mounted from, or on" a UAD PCI card that costs the half price of this units, with the same conversion and specs, but in a pci, non desktop shape.
Gain/monitor/plug in parameters/mute control is very confortable to use due the big sized pot/wheel , the info is very clear on de led meters and buttons display, buttons feels solid and nice to click. Design in the unit is very nice looking, the top is very ergonomic, but units could be more comfortable for the user if the mic/line preamps were placed on the front of the unit, same as Hi z input and Hp output, or in a side of the unit, because placed on the back, for a desktop design, it is not so comfortable to access for the user, specially being inputs.
- Mine it is brand new, so I hope it will be solid as it looks like, we will see how many years this components/unit can be work without problems, then , it could get the 5 stars.

Overall it is a really nice tool to work at home in a pro way, at this price range, it is near perfect. Well done UA !!!!

R. Arafat

December 12, 2016

As expected from uaudio

Perfect portable sound card

E. Prinsen

December 11, 2016

Exactly what I was looking for

I was shopping around for a good audio interface with the lowest possible latency. I always wanted an apollo interface but I thought they were only made for mac users. I was thrilled when I found out about the apollo twin USB 3.0 interface. I've recorded in a studio that used apollo interfaces before so I knew this was a no brainer! I am so happy that I did! Now when I record vocals, I can add effects in realtime with no audible latency whatsoever! It gives you the option to record or monitor the effects as you record so you can get the inspiration of tracking with reverb and still record the dry signal and add it later if you wish. Also, the effects plug-ins are absolutely top notch. The emulations of the original hardware are so exact you won't be able to believe it. Everything is very intuitive. Another killer feature is that you can save your setups as presets and recall them instantly! This is so helpful if you have to come back to re record something. Your settings will be exactly the same! The sound quality is superb! I would recommend this interface to anyone who's looking for near zero latency and pristine sound quality. You won't be sorry.

R. Robertson

December 8, 2016

Seen/Heard what it can do. Apollo Twin Duo USB3

Watched what the Apollo Twin Duo USB3 could do to a mix at a live demonstration.
After serious consideration and research I
bought a unit and experimented with it.
Now I can get a pro sounding mix at home with out leaving home.
Just what I was searching for.
Thank you UA.


A. Turner

December 6, 2016

Save your money.

This unit sounds OK at best. I've never had any problems with it. In fact, it was fairly easy to setup. The console takes some getting used to but all in all a fairly decent product. The problem is the price in comparison to the sound quality, actual function, and limitations.

Despite the false advertisement, the DUO can't handle much stress. 4 or 5 plugins max and it dies quickly. In it's price range, with this limitation, it's pretty much useless...not to mention you can only use UAD plugins which are painfully overpriced.

I wouldn't recommend this unit to a friend or foe. If they cut the price in half for both the unit and the plugins, it might be a contender for the home studio. As it is now, it's for those who either have more money than brains, or for those who don't read reviews. Either way, 3 stars is a fair assessment overall.

S. Jazrawy

November 30, 2016

High quality,classy design and easy to use.

This audio interface is High quality,classy design and easy to use,
anyone can see the difference when you own this gear,
I wish it has just two more inputs so in this case we will have a great 4 inputs interface with affordable price.
and the great think we have a 14 free plugins already and in my case I have extra 3 plugins too.

R. Loncaric

November 24, 2016

Apollo Twin USB

User friendly interface, great sounding preamps...ideal for home studio

S. Guthre

November 18, 2016

apollo twin usb

I have been using a UAD DUO for many years. I'm setting up a portable rig with a laptop and the Twin. I've had flawless performance with the DUO card. The Twin is not as intuitive as your adds say. I haven't got the hang of using 4 plugins in my signal chain. I'm getting error displays that say it has shut off plugins so as to keep running. I would welcome another in depth video set up using a PC running W10. Especially specific I/O setup. The brief moments I get it working it sounds great but I'm spoiled on the DUO card.

R. Noel

November 18, 2016

The dimension and quality I've been looking for

Within a few days of playing with the Apollo Twin I realized this was the missing piece I've been looking for. The combination of the hardware and plugins has given my recordings that smooth analog quality and dimension I've been missing. The ability to send a great sounding mix to a performer while they're tracking and still record a dry signal has been something my old gear couldn't do. The Apollo Twin does it flawlessly. I will have to say the one downside I've found is the limit on plugins because of dsp in the unit. I have only had the unit a couple of weeks and have already run into the plugin ceiling on a mix. I'm hoping that with the better quality plugins I can use on the way in, and the great mic pres in both hardware and software, I will be able to get a better source in the future and the amount of plugins allowed won't be an issue.in the mix. Overall this is a welcome addition to my home studio.

UAD User

November 16, 2016

TWIN USB

Complete AD / DA performance for your application
UNISON technology completes preamplifier
Good routing CONSOLE 2.0

But ... still anxious WINDOWS drivers.

D. Whittington

November 14, 2016

Brought me to where I wanted to be

Before using the Apollo, I used the MOTU 828 MKII, Presonus AI 1818, MOTU 896 MKII Hybrid then got rid of that to use the Virus TI 2 mainly as the interface for my recording for character in recording purposes. Now I have the Apollo. Man I wish I had this before. Would have saved me a lot of time and money of course o.0. I record from Apollo to my EMU 6400 with the 3.4 output and then circle back in to the console. The Unison Neve 88RS preamp really helps my recordings have warmth way better than the Mixer that MOTU has. Works a lot easier and I can utilize these plugs every day with the mixer console and/or DAW.

Cheers!

D. Shaffer

November 11, 2016

Nothing compares to the sound quality..

CON: Doesn't work on MacOSX (kinda wanted to support my Apple setup)

PROS: Can track through the plugins.. definitely fattens up the mix. Can use with TB2 to TB3 enclosure that has a QUAD card in it..

I was wanting to move off of MacOSX, still support the cards that I already have, and be portable. It's working beautifully - ASUS ZenBook Pro, TwinUSB, QUAD in a TB2 enclosure through a TB3 converter into the ASUS TB3/USB-C port. It does everything I want, sounds amazing, and allows me to be portable. I use an ADAT sub-mixer into the Twin to track drums, etc.. It's all working beautifully. And, I use the input on the twin directly to track vocals, etc.. Awesome!

I. Lekic

November 9, 2016

I.L.

Really great interface. Works like charm on laptop-win 10,which was already tweaked for audio. Best card for a home studio, cause the DI sound is closest to amp sound that I have ever heard.Best plugins, unison is really excelent and preamps are nice and clean. So happy!

UAD User

November 9, 2016

A great product with obvious flaws

Since it is a port to the PC world and one of the few hardware soundcards that support USB3, you would expect it to run smooth as silk and outperform your old soundcard in every aspect.

Eventhough for the design, the construction and handling it definetly does.
The console environment is also flawless and works perfectly fine.
The sound it puts out is crisp and clear.

BUT

The setup for it is horrible. Countles USB3 chipsets straight up don't work at all.
Even on the port of the PCI-e extension card which is directly advised by Universal Audio it crackles and beeps as soon as for example a videogame is running aside of something like teamspeak or ableton.
While my old USB2 soundcard performed all this with absolute ease, the Apollo Twin seems to be overwhelmed very very veeeeery easily....

I hope they bring firmware and software updates in the future to finally increase the products stability and make it the perfect soundcard in it's pricerange.

V. Rodrigues

November 7, 2016

Muito top, adorei a fidelidade de reprodução.

É de mais essa interface da ua, eu estou tendo vários problemas de incompatibilidade com meu Windows, estou trocando de HD pra ssd HD, sistema operacional Win 7 pra Win 10 pro, pra que eu possa usufruir 100% de minha apollo, mas a nota já dei...5 estrelas, deu pra sentir o poder dela, mesmo tendo problemas de congelamento e clipes, consegui usar um pouco minha apollo e sentir a diferença brutal no áudio e nos plugin.

UAD User

November 7, 2016

Neve 1073 Preamp & EQ Collection

This preamp and Eq sound great on everything.

UAD User

November 7, 2016

apollo twin USB

very user friendly interface, great sound, i love it.

L. Strauch

October 31, 2016

I am very sorry

I am very sorry, I am not a typical german who complains about everything. I really appreciate the quality of universal audio. But it is definitely no device for windows. Maybe you make better experiences, but that are mine.

At first I bought the device, whitout knowing that it isn´t compatible on USB 2.0 slots.
MY MISTAKE I KNOW. But it wasn´t written somewhere, that it isn´t possible. Anyways, how I said that is definitely my problem.

But than I bought a pci express card for my computer. Every device is working except of the interface. I called a couple of audio engineers. Nobody could help, except from one person who said that this device doesn´t work with amd processors as well.

I really wanted to use this device, so I bought a new computer with USB 3.0 and Intel i5 processor.

The next problem: UAD doesn´t work with the newest Windows 10 update.

My idea was to install win 8.. Still doesnt work.

Now, I decided to bring the apollo twin back.

I really love the quality of UAD (the device worked on the computer of my girlfriend), but I wouldn´t recommend it for windows pc´s. It might work on yours, but you can´t be sure. And with the next win update, you could get new problems again.

By the way, I didn´t receive any help of the support. They didn´t respond my email...

181-200 of 273 Results