Apollo Twin USB

Apollo Twin USB

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

Overall Rating

41-60 of 235 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Siddells

January 17, 2018

Under Powered, Under Featured, & Overpriced

Unfortunately, I had 'some' expectations for this device, but the Duo is grossly underpowered - adding a more that 2 plug-ins can seriously affect & even halt it performance. This aggravated by the fact that it lacks the standard I/O features for its price-point
It has limited but mostly adequate I/O for basic guitar tracking, but lack of:
* Processing power (where's the Octo version?)
* No Optical Out (I had to get BLA mod for that)
* Stereo Input (Yes, Stereo guitar pedals have been around for some time)
* Monitor A & Monitor B (A/B or both) outputs for 2 sets of monitoring
* 2 Headphone outs (because why should the performer & I listen at the same time :-) )

... the examples above makes this device a bit of a toy really & is no good for the semi-advancing home studio owner who wants good quality, feature rich gear.
I only uses this because I paid for it, but it is just an interface now - my apogee quartet was a better investment & does everything this should.

I will be very keen to see the abovementioned spec's in the Apollo Twin Octo's :-)
I’ll fly in to buying on of those for sure! Otherwise, stay away from this pancake.
FYI: the Quad is barely any better from my current workings with it...

Sorry, this is a very expensive investment for the limited capabilities & performance that it has, or lacks.

K. KAMACI

January 4, 2018

Prodigy

Best sound quailty...

M. ekholm

January 1, 2018

great sound

great sounding soundcard but the uad card kinda useless. 2 610 is what you can use at the same time..

UAD User

December 23, 2017

Avoid, too many problems.

As other reviewers said, problems with AMD, pops and crackles coming from god knows where, terrible driver performance, slow updates. Right now the front panel buttons of my interface don't respond, and there's no solution given anywhere.

Avoid buying it, and mostly avoid buying plugins or you'll be chained to UAD. Yeah, they're great sounding, nope it's not worth the hassle.

星. 周

December 14, 2017

support???

Does Apollo USB do not support the record

What about the jumper???

Does not support???

星. 周

December 14, 2017

support???

Does Apollo USB do not support the record

What about the jumper???

Does not support???

孝. 内山

November 29, 2017

Apollo Twin USB

Very good.

G. Mokry

November 20, 2017

Apollo Twyn USB

Sehr super!

s. tajima

November 17, 2017

Very good

It sums it all up.

N. Yildiz

November 11, 2017

Not suitable for stabile working environment.

Sadly this device since day one does freeze if computer gets heavy loaded.
Easy way to cause crash/freeze simply run Vienna Mir and few VSTs, also something which would load CPU of your machine heavy enough. Usually when this happens the Apollo will generate insane loud noise which will damage all your production if you are in recording.It does shock heavily by this sound if you are editing something or listening to mixes. Imagine... you work on a heavy orchestrated piece where you got pianissimo and suddenly through your headphones or speakers you will suddenly hear loud electrical noise when device freezes. I am forced to reboot the device at least 30-60 times a day. I don't even waste my time for support anymore. I simply reboot it.
Time is money - and this is too expensive device to have such problems.

j. anderson

November 6, 2017

Apollo usb on mac?

No se puede configurar para darle uso en mac sierra?

J. Garcia

November 1, 2017

Quality

This is just waseome.

s. ogden

November 1, 2017

Took the plunge!

I sold all my old hardware-based rack setup (reverbs, compressors, preamps, etc.) and decided to simplify my rig with this. So far my impression after playing with it for 2 weeks is it seems to have a lot potential. There is a huge amount of marketing hype around this (more than I've seen for just about any other product), so let's see if it lives up to all that. It seems a bit limited in some respects and fragile.

By "limited" I mean it has two processors and it should utilize them better. If I add two resource heavy plugins to one channel then try to add a third plugin, I run out of resources because I maxed out one of two the DSP's...But the other DSP is completely idle with near 0% utilization! I found I could work around that by adding the third plugin as send/return, but a good multiprocessor system should be able to figure out it has free resources on another processor and offload the load to the other processor and allow one channel to completely utilize both processor if needed. Seems like an area that needs improvement.

Also by "limited", I was disappointed to find that you can only add one UNISON plugin per channel. Very sly that this is barely mentioned anywhere, especially nowhere in the product descriptions. In the software manual it says something like "a unison enabled plugin can be added in the input section". Be aware, when they say "a plugin" they literally mean "a plugin" as in one and only one plugin.

By fragile, I would call out it will not work with a USB hub. Not at all, at least with my hub. I can work around that and I know it is documented in FAQ. Also in FAQ, it sounds like you can't record to external drive connected to USB hub. Haven't tried that yet, so we'll see.

I like the amp plugins I've demo'd. I think the emphasis on vintage effects is, once again, over-hyped and I wish they would provide more usable/standard presets for some of the effects instead of "so-and-so's killer snare drum reverb"

Otherwise my impression so far are positive and I'm looking forward to working with it over the coming months.

m. croitoru-weissman

October 27, 2017

Apollo Twin USB Duo interface - Sound = 10/10, DAW integration = ???

I've invested 800 Euro in your Apollo Twin USB Duo interface with the hope that I could use many of your plug-ins in my mastering projects.
Well, I've had a very bad surprize: the Apollo Twin USB Duo doesn't work and integrate in the DAW with my i7 quadcore, Asus Rogue production laptop.
WHY in the God's name you should produce such an arogant product?
Seriously? Your device can work ONLY with desktops?

Not only that it doesn't integrate himself in the DAW and didn't let any incoming signal to be routed, it also disturbed my entire studio system, so that I was forced to run a system restore in order to make my studio work again properly, which costs me nerves, many hours of tryings and a disappointed client which I've embarrassed loosed.

I'm really disappointed and a sound studio specialist, who tried to help me, as well.
The Apollo Twin USB sounds wonderful indeed, but unfortunately no more than that, which for me momentary is definitively not enough for that price. The clue in that thing was the possibility to use the UA plug-ins, which in my case was impossible.

That why I've decided to send the device back with the note: NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
I really hope that this device will be deeply revised and the next version will be more friendly to the consumer and integrate smoothly in EVERY DAW or video editing programm who supports VST Sound plug-ins.
Come-on, we have XXIst Century, it should immediately jump in and, out of the box ready to work, as most of the interfaces do.
Make it simple! Even a 130 EURO Line6 UX2 works better. Really?

I'm a sound & film producer, working in Vienna, accross Europe & Israel and to have the mobility and the possibility to work on location and on the go, has a capital importance for me.
The device was purchassed by Thomann in Germany and meanwhile I've returned the device back in order to be refunded.
TOTAL INACCEPTABLE!

I really hope, you will improve this USB3 device, since many of us, producers are Windows users and very pleased with that fact.

SERVICE: Hier I must say 10/10. The customer service was prompt, but unfortunately no more relevant since after my entire studio has crushed down, I've runned to the post to return the Apollo Twin USB Duo interface a.s.a.p.
Very bad and freeking experience!

D. Albornoz

October 20, 2017

Excelente

Espectacular! No solo por los conversores y los preamplificadores de altísima calidad, sino también por la tecnológica unison, que te permite realizar tomas como si utilizaras equipamiento analógico y dado que universal audio posee gran variedad de estos powered plugins podes darle el tono que quieras a tu audio con solo unos cuantos clics.

D. Albornoz

October 20, 2017

Excelente

Espectacular! No solo por los conversores y los preamplificadores de altísima calidad, sino también por la tecnológica unison, que te permite realizar tomas como si utilizaras equipamiento analógico y dado que universal audio posee gran variedad de estos powered plugins podes darle el tono que quieras a tu audio con solo unos cuantos clics.

p. morelle

October 16, 2017

GREAT gear and unique sound

I am testing the apollo twin usb since one month, having in mind to record my new CD mainly at home. And the least I can say is that UA apollo twin is something GREAT. What a difference, in clarity, precision ... And what to say about unison and the plug in collection ? It's just a dream come true to be able to work with legendary materials and sounds, wonderfully reproducted by UA. NOW I really found what I had been dreaming about since years ! A professional recording and mixing chain, at home and at low cost, compared to the real thing. THANK YOU Universal Audio !

J. Rawls

October 12, 2017

Best purchase ever!

I have been using good equipment for years, but after using the Apollo Twin, my recordings sound more professional, I can finally say the tracks recorded and mixed with the Apollo are finished. What I hear in my head is what I hear from the Apollo. Very very glad I purchased The Apollo Twin. Only thing better would be a Quad DSP

N. Ostavar

October 11, 2017

Fabolous

Nothing more to say. It's stunning product.

J. Presson

October 11, 2017

It's complicated

The plugins sound awesome!
That being said, if had the Apollo now for 3 weeks and the problem I'm having is getting the console to operate how I need it to with Studio One Pro. And I can't find any info on how to set it up with S1. I've found most of the other DAWs. But can't find the same in depth info for S1. I can't believe this isn't set up to be a lot more simple to use. And I've read many other comments with ppl saying there disappointed in how complicated this is as well

41-60 of 235 Results