Apollo Twin USB

Apollo Twin USB

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

Overall Rating

1-20 of 199 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Radivojevic

April 11, 2016

As good as it gets - the UA quality!

This interface is just fantastic! And I'm writing this review coming from another very high-end audio unit which has been replaced without any regrets.
I've been using UAD plugins for years (PCIe cards) and I was expecting only the best. This is what I got with Apollo USB and then some. Integration with my existing UA hardware is perfect and it worked straight out of the box without any problem.
Pros: Excellent word-class converters, Unison preamp technology (WOW!), Console software, stability and well-thought unit controls.
Cons: I had to clear half of my rack space because I won't be using some of analog hardware anymore. Actually, I take it as a plus now :)
Great job, UA! It was well worth waiting for Apollo Twin Duo USB few months!

T. Caudron

March 17, 2016

Idéal pour le home studio

Les convertisseurs sont très bons.
Les préamp unison (neve 1073, ampli guitare) améliorent vraiment la qualité des prises.
Tout est bien fait dans cette carte son y compris et surtout le workflow. On se met en condition de faire un bon enregistrement très rapidement. Le console recall permet de retrouver les réglages utilisés en cas de besoin.
L'ergonomie est vraiment bien faite avec tous les réglages de gain et de monitoring via le gros bouton. C'est un plaisir à utiliser.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

True USB Gem your Grandma wants

I have had it for 2 days and I am thinking of tossing out my Apollo 16 firewire 800. Because it is USB3 (laughs) it responds to Windows’ sleep mode. You can unplug the Twin, power off, or light your PC on fire. As soon as you reconnect, in any order your grandma wants, the settings from Console update the Twin with no iffs or butts.
I even unplugged the Twin and took it to my Studio PC with different plugs in console and it was like having Sunday Lunch.
The same cannot be said for freakin’ Firewire Apollos and Satellites, where your PC is on all day, or suffer the consequences…!..
The sad news is: Console switches Hi Z to mono, so you can't use Marshall in stereo, unless through AUX. Nobody has confirmed whether Unison works for this

D. Barrington

January 16, 2016

Plugins Make the Interface

As an audio interface, I'd give it a 4 star. Latency is about as good as Apogee, but behind Audient. Better than the Clarett though.

The look and feel of the things is a bit different than other interfaces. I like the BIG BUTTON thought. When it starts, the clicking and LED checks scare me, but I guess it's a very good thing they've implemented cause it's searching for physical problems is my guess.

I've been through a LOT of audio interfaces and what makes this 5 star really are the Pre-amp plugins. The Neve in particular.

I wish this unit were a QUAD though. The DSP's get used fast, so you have to bake plugins or add a Satellite. Mix Control software is superb!

O. RIGAUX

March 18, 2016

Buzz on Asus UX32V

random buzz, cut audio, blue screen. Here everyday life since I changed my Presonus 44VSL by USB appolo.
The tips of the support changed nothing. And I've been waiting over a week the response of the technical service.
I'm on it.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

L. Blume

March 4, 2016

Apollo Twin USB lemon

I've had nothing but problems with the unit I received. I disconnected it and do not plan to use it again.

星. 周

December 14, 2017

support???

Does Apollo USB do not support the record

What about the jumper???

Does not support???

星. 周

December 14, 2017

support???

Does Apollo USB do not support the record

What about the jumper???

Does not support???

孝. 内山

November 29, 2017

Apollo Twin USB

Very good.

G. Mokry

November 20, 2017

Apollo Twyn USB

Sehr super!

s. tajima

November 17, 2017

Very good

It sums it all up.

N. Yildiz

November 11, 2017

Not suitable for stabile working environment.

Sadly this device since day one does freeze if computer gets heavy loaded.
Easy way to cause crash/freeze simply run Vienna Mir and few VSTs, also something which would load CPU of your machine heavy enough. Usually when this happens the Apollo will generate insane loud noise which will damage all your production if you are in recording.It does shock heavily by this sound if you are editing something or listening to mixes. Imagine... you work on a heavy orchestrated piece where you got pianissimo and suddenly through your headphones or speakers you will suddenly hear loud electrical noise when device freezes. I am forced to reboot the device at least 30-60 times a day. I don't even waste my time for support anymore. I simply reboot it.
Time is money - and this is too expensive device to have such problems.

j. anderson

November 6, 2017

Apollo usb on mac?

No se puede configurar para darle uso en mac sierra?

J. Garcia

November 1, 2017

Quality

This is just waseome.

s. ogden

November 1, 2017

Took the plunge!

I sold all my old hardware-based rack setup (reverbs, compressors, preamps, etc.) and decided to simplify my rig with this. So far my impression after playing with it for 2 weeks is it seems to have a lot potential. There is a huge amount of marketing hype around this (more than I've seen for just about any other product), so let's see if it lives up to all that. It seems a bit limited in some respects and fragile.

By "limited" I mean it has two processors and it should utilize them better. If I add two resource heavy plugins to one channel then try to add a third plugin, I run out of resources because I maxed out one of two the DSP's...But the other DSP is completely idle with near 0% utilization! I found I could work around that by adding the third plugin as send/return, but a good multiprocessor system should be able to figure out it has free resources on another processor and offload the load to the other processor and allow one channel to completely utilize both processor if needed. Seems like an area that needs improvement.

Also by "limited", I was disappointed to find that you can only add one UNISON plugin per channel. Very sly that this is barely mentioned anywhere, especially nowhere in the product descriptions. In the software manual it says something like "a unison enabled plugin can be added in the input section". Be aware, when they say "a plugin" they literally mean "a plugin" as in one and only one plugin.

By fragile, I would call out it will not work with a USB hub. Not at all, at least with my hub. I can work around that and I know it is documented in FAQ. Also in FAQ, it sounds like you can't record to external drive connected to USB hub. Haven't tried that yet, so we'll see.

I like the amp plugins I've demo'd. I think the emphasis on vintage effects is, once again, over-hyped and I wish they would provide more usable/standard presets for some of the effects instead of "so-and-so's killer snare drum reverb"

Otherwise my impression so far are positive and I'm looking forward to working with it over the coming months.

m. croitoru-weissman

October 27, 2017

Apollo Twin USB Duo interface - Sound = 10/10, DAW integration = ???

I've invested 800 Euro in your Apollo Twin USB Duo interface with the hope that I could use many of your plug-ins in my mastering projects.
Well, I've had a very bad surprize: the Apollo Twin USB Duo doesn't work and integrate in the DAW with my i7 quadcore, Asus Rogue production laptop.
WHY in the God's name you should produce such an arogant product?
Seriously? Your device can work ONLY with desktops?

Not only that it doesn't integrate himself in the DAW and didn't let any incoming signal to be routed, it also disturbed my entire studio system, so that I was forced to run a system restore in order to make my studio work again properly, which costs me nerves, many hours of tryings and a disappointed client which I've embarrassed loosed.

I'm really disappointed and a sound studio specialist, who tried to help me, as well.
The Apollo Twin USB sounds wonderful indeed, but unfortunately no more than that, which for me momentary is definitively not enough for that price. The clue in that thing was the possibility to use the UA plug-ins, which in my case was impossible.

That why I've decided to send the device back with the note: NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
I really hope that this device will be deeply revised and the next version will be more friendly to the consumer and integrate smoothly in EVERY DAW or video editing programm who supports VST Sound plug-ins.
Come-on, we have XXIst Century, it should immediately jump in and, out of the box ready to work, as most of the interfaces do.
Make it simple! Even a 130 EURO Line6 UX2 works better. Really?

I'm a sound & film producer, working in Vienna, accross Europe & Israel and to have the mobility and the possibility to work on location and on the go, has a capital importance for me.
The device was purchassed by Thomann in Germany and meanwhile I've returned the device back in order to be refunded.
TOTAL INACCEPTABLE!

I really hope, you will improve this USB3 device, since many of us, producers are Windows users and very pleased with that fact.

SERVICE: Hier I must say 10/10. The customer service was prompt, but unfortunately no more relevant since after my entire studio has crushed down, I've runned to the post to return the Apollo Twin USB Duo interface a.s.a.p.
Very bad and freeking experience!

D. Albornoz

October 20, 2017

Excelente

Espectacular! No solo por los conversores y los preamplificadores de altísima calidad, sino también por la tecnológica unison, que te permite realizar tomas como si utilizaras equipamiento analógico y dado que universal audio posee gran variedad de estos powered plugins podes darle el tono que quieras a tu audio con solo unos cuantos clics.

D. Albornoz

October 20, 2017

Excelente

Espectacular! No solo por los conversores y los preamplificadores de altísima calidad, sino también por la tecnológica unison, que te permite realizar tomas como si utilizaras equipamiento analógico y dado que universal audio posee gran variedad de estos powered plugins podes darle el tono que quieras a tu audio con solo unos cuantos clics.

1-20 of 199 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10