Apollo Twin USB

Apollo Twin USB

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

Overall Rating

1-20 of 463 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 24

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

F. Dion

November 17, 2021

Wow

Just perfect the best that's it

F. Dion

November 17, 2021

Wow

Just perfect the best that's it

M. Nicholas

October 20, 2021

My new Favorite interface

I bought an Apollo Duo and an Octo USB and just couldn't be happier with them. Loads of DSP power and plugins that are so close to the hardware, its exciting. Ahh the 480L, just like I remember it in the real hardware and I can run loads of them :) Just fantastic. The preamps in the Duo are a good step up from my previous preamps and unison plugins are life like and work incredibly well.
Thank you for all the hard work UAD.

M. Snyder

October 8, 2021

Best Interface for the Price

The quality on this thing is impeccable! Easy controls, slick design, and great plugins to go with it. I had a Scarlett 2i4 3rd Gen. before I got the Apollo and the difference is incredibly noticeable; sounds more open and clean than the Scarlett does.

Couple things I am not too fond of with the Apollo that even my Scarlett did well.
1. The main issue I have is the gain control/allowance. If you choose the wrong input on a channel, you might seriously burst an eardrum no joke. Why is there no limiter of some sort to prevent this from happening? Also the "playback cap," if you will, aka the loudness of immediate playback, is too loud. Again, there should be some sort of resilant limiter on the Apollo and/or software with a high attack and fast release so that the level right after clicking play is not so sudden and loud. Lastly, underruns from overloading are louder and more obnoxious-sounding than they should be. None of these issues were a problem on the Scarlett.

2. Gain knob appears to have an exponential rate of adjustment, meaning as you turn the knob, the more % of an increase there is. This is in contrast to a linear rate of adjustment which keeps level adjustment at a consistent 1:1 rate.

3. Hasn't helped my CPU. I'm on an i7 processor and 16gb of RAM and was hoping this Apollo would help at least some with overruns and glitches, but it almost seems to have gotten a little worse. Not a whole lot but it definitely hasn't helped any.

4. Haven't figured out adjusting delay compensation when using UAD plugins in DAW. It sounds normal during playback, but after export there is a very noticeable delay in whatever track the plugin was placed. This is prevented me from even using any of the plugins yet. I will say, however, this could be due to ignorance and I just haven't found the answer yet. Nonetheless, more support/easier means of finding a solution to this issue should be more readily accessable.

Even with these pretty hefty issues I have with the Apollo, it's still the best of the best in terms of quality for the money. I wouldn't even think about taking it back. It just seems that the options are lacking with regards to obtaining a more individualized experience. All this being said, you still won't regret the purchase. It's becoming an industry standard!

D. Skerke

October 8, 2021

Windows USB Apollo Twin

Works great (so far). A lot of folks seemed to have problems with Windows USB and UAD. As for my experience,. I had a relatively hassle free setup and the unit operates as advertised. I bought mine refurbished, note to othjers, do not follow standard install path if you buy refurbbished, make sure you install via the 'used device' path even if it is factory refreshed. I write that for the reviewer that may want to give it another try when they pull it from the closet.

K. Barański

September 29, 2021

APOLLO-TWIN-DUO-USB 4 years of durability max

It may be a good sound card, but it only works for 4 years until it breaks after warranty. Contacting support about a fault will get you nowhere and solve nothing ... (they say their product is indestructible and durable) ... just a waste of time. Considering the times when there is almost no post-warranty service with such miniaturized electronics, for this price, the quality of electronic components in this device is a scandal. In addition, too expensive third-party plugs, such as Softube or Brainworx, which can be purchased cheaper from manufacturers. Complete disappointment. Believe me - 4 years and the equipment goes to the garbage.

M. J

September 28, 2021

Easy Setup.

Easy to setup. Rebooted PC once to Update Firmware after hard reset on device - no problem. Console easy to use. Well packaged as expected from UAD. USB-A cable included. Purchased a $20 USB-C cable (only port on my laptop)

D. Maine

September 21, 2021

So buggy that I was never able to install it.

Wtf is this product? Plugged it into my Windows 10 computer, followed the default install path and wouldn't you know it I ran into an immediate error that I still haven't been able to figure out. I don't have time to troubleshoot stupidly built products while I'm under the demand of my client schedule. I'm back to using my original cheap interface and this Apollo Twin piece of junk is going back in my closet until I have time to troubleshoot. Thanks UAD!

A. Salganik

September 16, 2021

Great quality wow

Great quality wow

A. Salganik

September 16, 2021

Great quality wow

Great quality wow

S. Kota

September 15, 2021

The best device, not just as an audio interface

First of all, the advantages of UAD are the quality of the plug-in and the realism of the analog devices, but this Apollo has a unison function.
The unison function is a function that allows you to use amp sounds and preamps with almost 0 latency.
For example, by setting Marshall's Plexi amp and Neve 1073 or API, you can get the best sound feedback and inspiration. This inspiration is so intense that you can get drunk enough to slow down your creative activities.

N. Sousa

September 6, 2021

Incredible and very versatile product. Ideal for those who want professional sound.


This formula of having a hardware and software in one set working to have a wide range of resources during the recording process was for me an incredible experience and took my musical projects to another level. I recommend it because this product is worth every cent invested. I am so happy to have such a powerful tool here in my studio.

S. Faulk

September 3, 2021

I'm happy with mine

I got a refurbished model and it works perfectly. The plugins are a bit expensive, and I think the Unison is a bit of a hype, but overall it's fun to use and has excellent sound quality. Here's a Unison comparison video I did for anyone interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDwnUY3Lg5M&t=117s

J. Gecelter

September 2, 2021

Schwer beeindruckt

Die Apollo Twin mit den UAD Plufgs ist so flexibel wie keine andere Soundkarte in der Größenordnung. Das Routing ist sehr Umfangreich und somit etwas Zeitintensiv. Aber dann ist es eine State of the art Karte. Ich bin so glücklich!

E. Urrutia

August 5, 2021

E M M A

Simplemente muy bueno, no es igual a ninguna otra interfaz simplemente Universal Audio

I. Dzigun

July 28, 2021

USB Apollo Twin USB

Very satisfied! It works without glitches on Windows 10. The delay when playing through the map with plugins is not heard at all! Super audio card!

M. Johnstone

July 27, 2021

Pluggins

These analog pluggins are absolutely crazy insanely amazing, I don’t think I’ll ever use other pluggins again, the depth, warmth etc is insane.

J. Vaughn

July 15, 2021

Possibly The Best Desktop Interface Ever

Concerning the Apollo Twin USB, one could pen exhaustive volumes of longhand, copiously peppered with all the requisite audio engineering vernacular, and it is indeed most worthy of being profusely lauded with such noble resound relating to its myriad virtues and amenities. But, barring all such garrulous verbiage, all may still quite accurately be condensed into a single, simple, succinct statement:

THIS THING IS SICK, ABSOLUTELY SICK.

In 40 years of playing, gigging, composing, recording, and running live sound, I don't think I’ve ever been happier with a music-related purchase. An overflowing cup of true genius on behalf of Universal Audio! You can read all about its connectivity, operation, specs, etc on the product description page, so I'll focus on the sonic performance here.

The Apollo's hardware preamps are extremely clean, clear, neutral, colorless and transparent; a notable step up from the ten or so well-known industry brand interfaces in the <$500 price range that I've heard, and as good as the pres in a friend's $25,000 console. They have enough low-noise gain for very low output dynamic mics like the RE20 and SM7B, and will also work with passive ribbon mics if you fiddle with it in the Console software, which I found to be very intuitive, familiar and hardware-like. If you can operate a basic analog mixer (much less a DAW!), you'll have this well thought out GUI mastered in a few minutes.

But, the real magic happens when you tap into the UAD-Powered plug-in suite. Before the advent of digital recording, I recorded in some studios equipped with the coveted "vintage" goodies everyone drools over today. I can truly say the UAD Heritage plugs sound closer to the genuine article than anything I've yet heard in the digital realm, especially with the Unison preamp feature. When you open a UAD "Unison-Enabled" preamp plug-in in Console's Unison slot the realism is uncanny, with unmistakable analog coloration, harmonic richness, punch and that gorgeous, euphonic gloss and sheen. TIP: The UAD Neve 1084 plug-in in the Unison slot is utterly beyond amazing!

Finally, the Apollo Twin USB's real-time processing capability is the icing on the cake. Being able to hear your post-processed vocal or instrument in your cans in real time (< 2 ms latency) while tracking is incredible. It's literally like tracking through hardware. Speaking of cans, the Apollo Twin USB's headphone amplifier is very noticeably better than what you typically find in desktop interfaces. It drives high impedance headphones with ease, and sounds as good as my expen$ive rackmount headphone amplifier.

My only complaint with the entire package is that (depending on which plugs you're using and where) it can run out of internal DSP ability. You can't stack both channels with Unison-Enabled preamp plug-ins and 3 or 4 other plugs each and maintain real-time monitoring; you must turn some of the plug-ins off if you're monitoring with cans during tracking. While not a deal-breaker, it IS disappointing, and I do wish Universal Audio would've simply equipped it with more powerful internal DSP engines.

At the end of the day, while I'd never argue it sounds *exactly* like a studio full of the real, physical hardware, this will get you 98% of the way there at well less than 1% of the price. Plus, it takes up less than a square foot of space, can be up and running with just a few cables, is virtually noiseless, and never needs maintenance or new tubes and capacitors. It's already revolutionized my tracking, editing, mixing and mastering, and will no doubt be a close friend and indispensable tool for a very long time to come. It takes me back to the sound of "the good old days," coupled with unparalleled ease of use in the best of today's technology.

R. Raymond

July 11, 2021

No pop's here whit AMD

Hi I have a windows 10 PC using AMD 2700 Ryn an a 3.1 USB MB. The USB Apollo Twin run's great no pop's just sound good on all my Daw's , ProTools / Cubase /FL &
NI Machine
I' am very happy ... that sound of a good interface I got That...DSP Plugins are Limit in the amount but the sound you get ...look you need to try them your self then you will know why I like them so much....they work...like they say they do. Thanks' UAD for making this one.

j. Jensen

July 9, 2021

Solid construction

All in all a good interface . But I am not impressed by the sound , its sounds good but not better than my presonus audiobox ione cheap beginner interface . What makes this interface top notch is the console software which is the reason I bought it , and that is totally something you can’t live without ones you try it .
Plugins sound good but not better than what you can get much cheaper elsewhere . To pricey in my oppinion .

1-20 of 463 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 24