Apollo 8p

Apollo 8p

Customer Reviews

Apollo 8p

Overall Rating

1-20 of 85 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. MacQuarrie

July 16, 2016

Avoid this unit if you plan to use both ADAT lightpipe ports

Universal Audio have disabled the 2nd ADAT lightpipe port for 44.1khz and 48khz digital transfers. I attempted to transfer audio from my HD24 but the 8p does not see it. UA should clearly indicate this in their literature and not bury it on page 22 of their manual. Also hearing slight pops and crackles in the audio from my unit. At one point it had issues not passing audio and I had to reboot it just to get the audio to pass through. Going to return this item.

M. Robinson

June 17, 2016

Big step up

I just started my first project with the Apollo 8P. My workflow speed has increased significantly with this interface and the associated plug ins that came with it. It took me a long time to save for it but it's felt well worth it. I'm only a couple of weeks in but the new-gear honeymoon might last awhile longer with this thing.

UAD User

June 13, 2016

Love it top to bottom, but need better routing

I love it. I already owned a few of the emulation plugs and can a/b them with the UAD version. The SSl channel has much more depth, and the Comp is now usable. The box is great.: the sound of the pres, conversion (both ways), the hardware (switches, metering), the software (no driver issues).

The only issue is the lack of routing, specifically ear cues. My previous box (an RME unit) allowed one to send any ins to any outs. I (ignorantly) assumed a new technology like the UAD would by default include such a feature. Discovering a 4- cue max was quite a shock, almost enough to return the unit. I track larger bands, and not being able to have dedicated mixes for each player is a big problem.

UAD User

May 18, 2016

Apollo 8p

3000 doesnt worth apollo 8p ....there should be atleast complete ultimate bundle with it.....

j. dee

March 18, 2016

LEAN MEAN AND NOT TOO FAR BETWEEN

History. Play/d in bands/write for other people/spiritually guide folk. Recorded all over the world from pissy basements to abbey road. Love tape/shitty mics/busted guitars. Budgets disappear,no more abbey road more coronation street.[For my U.S. friends thats no more Silverlake but more The valley]. Still fuck em,i can make music from dustbins cause I'm different,I'm not like the rest of you on this forum, so I'm happy.Must think. UAD 8p arrives. No more compatibility charts for months/there's knobs/switches/sounds cool/easy to use. More time for making art and less gawping@a screen/more time to look into artists eyes and suck there best work out of them. For 3g's job done. I don't need UAD, they don't need me,but we are good together

D. Watson

November 24, 2015

limited routing is maddening

I feel like i wasted my money on this unit. the routing is frustratingly basic and integrating this into my workflow has been difficult at best.

standalone it is a decent unit and recording through the plugins is an obvious plus but the routing is bafflingly limited and trying to use additional adat outputs is not an easy task.

my RME units with total mix are FAR superior and much easier use.

B. Morris

September 1, 2015

More than I expected

I consider myself a fairly "informed consumer" and I tend to research ALL possibilities before making any choices. I already owned an Apollo 16 (Silverface) and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I added the 8P primarily for the Unison preamps (8 already great preamps that you can mix and match 1073's, API's, and UA 610's with more to come Im sure, cmon -no brainer!) AD/DA, and clocking. I also REALLY like the fact that you can use one simple thunderbolt cable and get DSP, IO, and clock all at once.

What I didn't anticipate was the much better stereo field and definition. Small changes seemed more noticeable, reverb tails seem more detailed...all in all a GREAT box.

C. Martin

August 26, 2015

Perfect

8 emulate-able pre-amps and quad core processing is pure bliss. I couldn't say enough good things about the Apollo 8 if I tried. It's like waking up every morning next to an exquisitely beautiful woman and questioning "how can this be real?" Thanks for that UA!

M. Elliott

August 20, 2015

Loving the Apollo 8P

Just tracked a few drum tracks with the Apollo 8P and UA Store Plug-Ins. Using AKG 112 on Kick, Miktek PM10 on Snare, Sennheiser 421 on Toms, Shure KSM 32 OHs, and SM 81 on Hats. Absolutely no outboard pre-amps or compressors. I love how the Apollo captures the character of each mic, not to mention the DSP technology on all 8-inputs. Can't wait for the 16P (hint, hint) version to hit the market!

C. Gill

March 16, 2016

Needs More DSP

First of all, the Apollo 8p sounds incredible! Routing and integration into my existing rig were a breeze. HOWEVER… for $3K, the DSP is lacking BIG time! At 96kHz, I get a Unison plugin, and one… maybe two additional plugins on each channel before the processor is maxed. Now try adding Ocean Way or AKG verb to an aux and real trouble hits! I was looking to start recording/mixing everything at 192kHz, but at that rate, I barely get Unison plugins on each channel before the Apollo 8p processor overloads. It's like UA made the Apollos just to wet your appetite so you have to spend more money on their satellite DSP accelerators.

R. Lopez

December 30, 2015

Great Idea, Slow execution

After some time with this unit I have come to the conclusion that it is a little hyped. First I would like to say that it sounds really good. The plug-ins are a better emulation than waves. The GUI are nice looking but, picking settings is a little frustrating. Also, I experience pops and clicks, minor lag when ran at 92k with 256 sample buffer (I have a decent new macbook and I'm running Ableton Live) Honestly, my little NI Komplete Audio 6 ran smoother. The biggest disappointment for me is of course that you max out real fast using 8 mic pre's along with plug-ins. I had 4 mic's with Neve pre amps and comps on each channel and that was too much for tracking. If you got the money and it's no big deal then this unit is a cool buy.

W. Lucero

August 8, 2015

Apollo 8p = Weak DSP.... Buyer Beware!!!!!

1 star simply for the weak DSP. UA brags about the Apollo 8p having 4 sharc processors, what they don't mention is that really doesn't amount to much when running their UA plugins. I did the research, was aware that said plugins could take up as much as 44% of 1 processor, but I made the purchase anyways simply because I liked the idea of having 8 pre amps. If it wasn't for the weak DSP (I max out at about 12-15 UA plugins, depending on which ones I'm using), I'd definitely give 5 stars, but for $3000, I'm expecting a lot more bang for my bucks....

T. Chattaway

November 30, 2017

Handles my DPA 4011A microphones beautifully

I started a journey a few months ago, to record a grand piano, and it's been no easy endeavour. After months of research I invested in a matched pair of DPA 4011 microphones. When I first recording with them, they sounded so clear and capture the piano beautifully, but something was wrong on the top end (sounding a bit crunchy). After some advice, I soon discovered they needed decent preamps. After more research I took the plunge and bought the Apollo 8p. It's awesome! It's the perfect answer for my studio. The sound is true, clear and beautiful through the Apollo preamps and the DPA mics are now sounding flawless. I've found that the UAudio API Vision Channel Strip plugin seems to handle the piano frequencies best. It was a significant financial investment for me, but well worth it to achieve the high-end results I was hoping for. Very happy with the result.

M. Wilcox

November 14, 2017

Winning the Argument

Oh, how my dad and I could have argued about this! I couldn't tell you how many times we had the old 'digital vs. analogue' debate. I always said digital was coming, one day. 'It's just too convenient', I said, passing dad solder and wires and things I didn't even understand while he crouched over some piece of arcane outboard gear in a cloud of greasy smoke (I need to point out here I'm not a sound engineer, I'm a guitar player who loves tinkering with things). 'But it sounds crap', he replied. And it being 15-20 years ago, he was right. But now we're getting there, aren't we?
For one thing, dad always wanted a Neve desk but never got one together, so the first thing I did when my 8p arrived was demo the Neve channel strips- went for the 88RS in the end. I don't know what a real Neve sounds like, but I don't care, because this is by miles the best recorded tone I've ever had! Tape bundle next, I think.
Not to end on a grim note, but dad's got Alzheimer's now. His studio full of racks and desks and knobs and meters and interesting bits and pieces that fascinated me when I was a kid is long gone. But I'm still going to take my Kemper, the 8p and a MacBook pro to the home he's in one day and play him something through the Neve channel strip. Because it's so convenient. Bet he'd still never admit I was right, though.

M. Hagfors

November 4, 2017

OMG!!

I've had this baby for 12 hours now and I'm absolutely stunned and flabbergasted! I went from a 250$ Focusrite Scarlette 18i8 to the Apollo 8p and man.. The difference was jaw-dropping! The preamps are staggering beautiful and they makes my instuments, like the Nord Stage, Korg synths and guitars sound like completly new and improved instruments! Just amazing!

It feels like upgrading from a 1989mod Toyota Carina II to a 2017mod Lamborghini Avantador! It's my best buy EVER! And I can't imagine ever stop using it. Worth every cent!
I'm lost for more words.. Just thank you Universial Audio!!

N. Ryan

November 2, 2017

BADASS DAD!

This unit is a bleeding powerhouse. The converters are lovely (night and day improvement in comparison to my Focusrite Clarett 8preX), the standard pre amps are dope, but pair them with a unison enabled plug in and it will rock your world. My room for tracking isn’t that great, but I’ve sent drum tracks I’ve done through the Apollo, and my clients think it sounds like “billions and billions” of dollars worth of equipment in a perfect room. The dsp is more than capable to run all eight unison pres, with compression inserts and tape, plus verb on the aux, before capping out. If you ask me, that’s more room than anyone could ever need for tracking. The only thing I wish I had access to, would be separate buttons for dim and mono, rather than have to choose between one on the function switch, and use the other one in console, but that’s a minor thing. Outside of that, this is an incredible unit, the design is gorgeous, the workflow is quick, and the amount of flexibility on every channel, plus virtual inputs in console is outstanding. Fantastic piece for anyone looking to record drums, produce, or mix just about anything.

G. Johnson

October 31, 2017

All in!

I have recently gone from having an API, NEVE, an SSL G+, a Studer, ATR and house full of phat classic compressors and outboard effects. I know what all the different tape formulations sound like. Day one of this all Apollo session I was like the dog hearing his masters voice. When you dial in the gear exactly as you would in hardware world [ as in an 1176 does more than just 4 buttons in "smash" ] the response is is very satisfying. I still have a control room full of gear but I just haven't heard the need to plug it in yet. When my ears start lying I"ll let y"all know.

t. appert

October 2, 2017

Amazing

Does exactly what I was hoping. I'd been using an otari mx 5050 but was growing concerned with keeping it up. Since I've purchased the apollo 8p it has become my main recording rig.

H. Engelke

September 11, 2017

There's always two sides...

I guess there are always two kinds of persons in a company. The cheaters and the upright ones. Those who proudly create great things and those who want to squeeze money out of customers. UAD beware! It seems your promo sharks are taking over. The facts:
Apollo 8p sounds good.
Works instantly on a mac.
The routing is a nightmare.
Getting all channels to work with pro tools takes ages because of poor documentation or missing presets.
"Dreamstudio promo" is a joke, just a list of shelf warmers.
It is said several times in the promo videos: "multiple units run as one". No, they don't. No way to freely route.

N. Loris

August 11, 2017

Great converters!

Great converters on this unit! Thanks UAD!

1-20 of 85 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5