Apollo 8p

Apollo 8p

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo 8p

Overall Rating

21-40 of 103 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Lattimore

January 21, 2018

Perfect!

I needed a great interface that would allow me to control everything remotely. This unit totally filled the bill! I love it!

A. Torres

January 20, 2018

Best Interface period

I have been a UA user since 2006 when I purchased my first UAD-1 Card just to have the Fairchild plugin, since than my plugin arsenal from UA began to grow, topping it off with an Apollo 8p (Currently own a Twin Quad MkII, Apollo 8P , Apollo SF Duo, 2 Octo Satelites and a Quad Satellite plus the majority of their plugins) It has been the best investment I have made for my Studio and my career as an engineer. I own Outboard preamps (API,Neve 1073, Portico's and SSL's) I have worked on big Neve and SSL desks and this is the closest you can get to them! Just love that once you learn how to use it along with the Console 2 app workflow will become so easy that you can focus on what is truly important THE MUSICIANSHIP and ART of creating. If you are looking to take your projects to the next level, this is the way to go but get ready and willing to learn the inside out of the Apollo and its capabilities and of course to drop a few thousands not only on interfaces and satellites (Need them for DPS, your workflow and creativity flow will much appreciate it) but on plugins. Only 4 CUE Mixes available is a huge downside...

P. Tomkins

January 20, 2018

What a purchase

I was slightly anxious researching the Apollo 8p &a this grew after making the purchase. Once it arrived I knew this was a mate for life. Using the cpu juicy uad plugins through the Apollo saving previous space for my other plugins is fantastic. The sound quality is awesome. This is just the beginning for me & UAD. I want all the plug ins!!!!

A. Wingert

January 17, 2018

Apollo 8p

Great addition to my Apollo 8, multi unit works fine and the plug ins are awesome!!

C. Lattimore

January 9, 2018

Fabulous peice of gear!

I sometimes need to work from my recording room so I needed a way to control both the preamps and the daw from both the control room and the recording room so I got 2 Apollo8Ps. They fit the bill perfectly! Also the UA plug-ins are second to none.

J. Cummins

January 9, 2018

WOW

Doing what it should very well. Very happy.

J. Poole

December 30, 2017

Old school meets new school

I needed a recording, mixing, mastering solution and when I dumped the Nuendo/PC/Waves combo for Logic Pro/Mac Pro/UAD I went from being embarrassed to legitimate overnight. I tried the Waves IOS and went into buyers remorse immediately. The Apollo has 80x the throughput. While the Waves IOS advertises 1 Gb's, Cat 6 cables only have a throughput of 250MB's. 4 x 20 = 80X. This unit is a winner.

G. Navas

December 24, 2017

Minus 2 Stars For Weak DSP Chips

The Apollo 8p is a great sounding audio interface with a very well thought-out accompanying software package. It also looks great and feels very sturdy. Unfortunately, its weak point is that you hit the DSP limit rather quickly while tracking at higher sample rates as the plugins take up more DSP resources. Having said that, i revisited some older mixes I had done prior to obtaining the apollo and sprinkled them with some uad-2 plugins and immediately noted that they made the songs sound noticeably better and at the end of the day, there's no price tag on the satisfaction of a great sounding mix. This recommendation comes with an asterisk so do your research and be warned about the dsp usage.

A. Burroughs

December 20, 2017

The Cherry on top!!!

20 years writing and producing, 16 years on the road at FOH, and I come back to this???!!! The 8P is a game changer for me. Pure butter!!! I love the old analog stuff so the Apollo 8P is perfect. And I can buy ALL of the plugins for the 1980's price of one effect. UA, Thanks for the hookup!!!!

R. Uvarov

December 18, 2017

Amazing sound and design

Apollo sound is incredible. It is different from mid-class audio interfaces and you feel this difference from the 1st second. Same for recording vocals and instruments - I was surprised how wide and juicy, so realistic they sound. It is definitely changed my workflow for higher level.

T. Chattaway

November 30, 2017

Handles my DPA 4011A microphones beautifully

I started a journey a few months ago, to record a grand piano, and it's been no easy endeavour. After months of research I invested in a matched pair of DPA 4011 microphones. When I first recording with them, they sounded so clear and capture the piano beautifully, but something was wrong on the top end (sounding a bit crunchy). After some advice, I soon discovered they needed decent preamps. After more research I took the plunge and bought the Apollo 8p. It's awesome! It's the perfect answer for my studio. The sound is true, clear and beautiful through the Apollo preamps and the DPA mics are now sounding flawless. I've found that the UAudio API Vision Channel Strip plugin seems to handle the piano frequencies best. It was a significant financial investment for me, but well worth it to achieve the high-end results I was hoping for. Very happy with the result.

M. Wilcox

November 14, 2017

Winning the Argument

Oh, how my dad and I could have argued about this! I couldn't tell you how many times we had the old 'digital vs. analogue' debate. I always said digital was coming, one day. 'It's just too convenient', I said, passing dad solder and wires and things I didn't even understand while he crouched over some piece of arcane outboard gear in a cloud of greasy smoke (I need to point out here I'm not a sound engineer, I'm a guitar player who loves tinkering with things). 'But it sounds crap', he replied. And it being 15-20 years ago, he was right. But now we're getting there, aren't we?
For one thing, dad always wanted a Neve desk but never got one together, so the first thing I did when my 8p arrived was demo the Neve channel strips- went for the 88RS in the end. I don't know what a real Neve sounds like, but I don't care, because this is by miles the best recorded tone I've ever had! Tape bundle next, I think.
Not to end on a grim note, but dad's got Alzheimer's now. His studio full of racks and desks and knobs and meters and interesting bits and pieces that fascinated me when I was a kid is long gone. But I'm still going to take my Kemper, the 8p and a MacBook pro to the home he's in one day and play him something through the Neve channel strip. Because it's so convenient. Bet he'd still never admit I was right, though.

M. Hagfors

November 4, 2017

OMG!!

I've had this baby for 12 hours now and I'm absolutely stunned and flabbergasted! I went from a 250$ Focusrite Scarlette 18i8 to the Apollo 8p and man.. The difference was jaw-dropping! The preamps are staggering beautiful and they makes my instuments, like the Nord Stage, Korg synths and guitars sound like completly new and improved instruments! Just amazing!

It feels like upgrading from a 1989mod Toyota Carina II to a 2017mod Lamborghini Avantador! It's my best buy EVER! And I can't imagine ever stop using it. Worth every cent!
I'm lost for more words.. Just thank you Universial Audio!!

N. Ryan

November 2, 2017

BADASS DAD!

This unit is a bleeding powerhouse. The converters are lovely (night and day improvement in comparison to my Focusrite Clarett 8preX), the standard pre amps are dope, but pair them with a unison enabled plug in and it will rock your world. My room for tracking isn’t that great, but I’ve sent drum tracks I’ve done through the Apollo, and my clients think it sounds like “billions and billions” of dollars worth of equipment in a perfect room. The dsp is more than capable to run all eight unison pres, with compression inserts and tape, plus verb on the aux, before capping out. If you ask me, that’s more room than anyone could ever need for tracking. The only thing I wish I had access to, would be separate buttons for dim and mono, rather than have to choose between one on the function switch, and use the other one in console, but that’s a minor thing. Outside of that, this is an incredible unit, the design is gorgeous, the workflow is quick, and the amount of flexibility on every channel, plus virtual inputs in console is outstanding. Fantastic piece for anyone looking to record drums, produce, or mix just about anything.

G. Johnson

October 31, 2017

All in!

I have recently gone from having an API, NEVE, an SSL G+, a Studer, ATR and house full of phat classic compressors and outboard effects. I know what all the different tape formulations sound like. Day one of this all Apollo session I was like the dog hearing his masters voice. When you dial in the gear exactly as you would in hardware world [ as in an 1176 does more than just 4 buttons in "smash" ] the response is is very satisfying. I still have a control room full of gear but I just haven't heard the need to plug it in yet. When my ears start lying I"ll let y"all know.

t. appert

October 2, 2017

Amazing

Does exactly what I was hoping. I'd been using an otari mx 5050 but was growing concerned with keeping it up. Since I've purchased the apollo 8p it has become my main recording rig.

H. Engelke

September 11, 2017

There's always two sides...

I guess there are always two kinds of persons in a company. The cheaters and the upright ones. Those who proudly create great things and those who want to squeeze money out of customers. UAD beware! It seems your promo sharks are taking over. The facts:
Apollo 8p sounds good.
Works instantly on a mac.
The routing is a nightmare.
Getting all channels to work with pro tools takes ages because of poor documentation or missing presets.
"Dreamstudio promo" is a joke, just a list of shelf warmers.
It is said several times in the promo videos: "multiple units run as one". No, they don't. No way to freely route.

N. Loris

August 11, 2017

Great converters!

Great converters on this unit! Thanks UAD!

J. Westra

July 1, 2017

Processing POWER

I can finally do the works I had planned to do with PT-(3 yrs later). I have 600 songs w/lyrics, every genre in music (pop to rock to classic jazz techno and more). My CPU thanks you.

UAD User

June 19, 2017

APOLLO 8P!!!

PERFECT PIECE OF GEAR!! DONT GET ANY BETTER THAN HAVING 8 PREs!!!!

21-40 of 103 Results