Apollo 8p

Apollo 8p

Customer Reviews

Apollo 8p

Overall Rating

61-80 of 132 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Wilcox

November 14, 2017

Winning the Argument

Oh, how my dad and I could have argued about this! I couldn't tell you how many times we had the old 'digital vs. analogue' debate. I always said digital was coming, one day. 'It's just too convenient', I said, passing dad solder and wires and things I didn't even understand while he crouched over some piece of arcane outboard gear in a cloud of greasy smoke (I need to point out here I'm not a sound engineer, I'm a guitar player who loves tinkering with things). 'But it sounds crap', he replied. And it being 15-20 years ago, he was right. But now we're getting there, aren't we?
For one thing, dad always wanted a Neve desk but never got one together, so the first thing I did when my 8p arrived was demo the Neve channel strips- went for the 88RS in the end. I don't know what a real Neve sounds like, but I don't care, because this is by miles the best recorded tone I've ever had! Tape bundle next, I think.
Not to end on a grim note, but dad's got Alzheimer's now. His studio full of racks and desks and knobs and meters and interesting bits and pieces that fascinated me when I was a kid is long gone. But I'm still going to take my Kemper, the 8p and a MacBook pro to the home he's in one day and play him something through the Neve channel strip. Because it's so convenient. Bet he'd still never admit I was right, though.

M. Hagfors

November 4, 2017

OMG!!

I've had this baby for 12 hours now and I'm absolutely stunned and flabbergasted! I went from a 250$ Focusrite Scarlette 18i8 to the Apollo 8p and man.. The difference was jaw-dropping! The preamps are staggering beautiful and they makes my instuments, like the Nord Stage, Korg synths and guitars sound like completly new and improved instruments! Just amazing!

It feels like upgrading from a 1989mod Toyota Carina II to a 2017mod Lamborghini Avantador! It's my best buy EVER! And I can't imagine ever stop using it. Worth every cent!
I'm lost for more words.. Just thank you Universial Audio!!

N. Ryan

November 2, 2017

BADASS DAD!

This unit is a bleeding powerhouse. The converters are lovely (night and day improvement in comparison to my Focusrite Clarett 8preX), the standard pre amps are dope, but pair them with a unison enabled plug in and it will rock your world. My room for tracking isn’t that great, but I’ve sent drum tracks I’ve done through the Apollo, and my clients think it sounds like “billions and billions” of dollars worth of equipment in a perfect room. The dsp is more than capable to run all eight unison pres, with compression inserts and tape, plus verb on the aux, before capping out. If you ask me, that’s more room than anyone could ever need for tracking. The only thing I wish I had access to, would be separate buttons for dim and mono, rather than have to choose between one on the function switch, and use the other one in console, but that’s a minor thing. Outside of that, this is an incredible unit, the design is gorgeous, the workflow is quick, and the amount of flexibility on every channel, plus virtual inputs in console is outstanding. Fantastic piece for anyone looking to record drums, produce, or mix just about anything.

G. Johnson

October 31, 2017

All in!

I have recently gone from having an API, NEVE, an SSL G+, a Studer, ATR and house full of phat classic compressors and outboard effects. I know what all the different tape formulations sound like. Day one of this all Apollo session I was like the dog hearing his masters voice. When you dial in the gear exactly as you would in hardware world [ as in an 1176 does more than just 4 buttons in "smash" ] the response is is very satisfying. I still have a control room full of gear but I just haven't heard the need to plug it in yet. When my ears start lying I"ll let y"all know.

t. appert

October 2, 2017

Amazing

Does exactly what I was hoping. I'd been using an otari mx 5050 but was growing concerned with keeping it up. Since I've purchased the apollo 8p it has become my main recording rig.

H. Engelke

September 11, 2017

There's always two sides...

I guess there are always two kinds of persons in a company. The cheaters and the upright ones. Those who proudly create great things and those who want to squeeze money out of customers. UAD beware! It seems your promo sharks are taking over. The facts:
Apollo 8p sounds good.
Works instantly on a mac.
The routing is a nightmare.
Getting all channels to work with pro tools takes ages because of poor documentation or missing presets.
"Dreamstudio promo" is a joke, just a list of shelf warmers.
It is said several times in the promo videos: "multiple units run as one". No, they don't. No way to freely route.

N. Loris

August 11, 2017

Great converters!

Great converters on this unit! Thanks UAD!

J. Westra

July 1, 2017

Processing POWER

I can finally do the works I had planned to do with PT-(3 yrs later). I have 600 songs w/lyrics, every genre in music (pop to rock to classic jazz techno and more). My CPU thanks you.

UAD User

June 19, 2017

APOLLO 8P!!!

PERFECT PIECE OF GEAR!! DONT GET ANY BETTER THAN HAVING 8 PREs!!!!

S. Gough

June 11, 2017

Cheapest way to an Analog Sound

Bought a pair of these for 16 Unison Pre inputs. The recall-ability allows for a very efficient session setup. Also, the unison pre's sound ridiculously close to the originals at a fraction of the cost. Beats the maintenance costs of having a console. For working out of my place, this was the perfect option.

L. Kenward

June 2, 2017

Thunderbolt on PC, no problems

I was initially worried about trying to get thunderbolt to work on my pc, but this works like a dream. The unit itself is really well made and well finished, drivers seem solid and the sound quality is noticeably better.
People seem to be complaining about the monitoring and i could see if you need more than 2 headphone mixes this could require a workaround, however for me tracking drums with a bassist or guitarist is absolutely perfect. Dialling in the sound on a channel strip and track what you hear or add it later.
Everything integrates with pro tools nicely, no latency that i can notice.
The main reason I chose the 8p was for the 8 unison preamps, not disappointed they sound really nice though if you have a unison plugin on each one you might not get much more cpu to play with.

D. Bishop

May 21, 2017

Big Moves

I recently started researching the UA technology after I saw some clients came to my studio and was using the plugins. I was sold out totally on the sound one was able to achieve on the way going in to the DAW. So I went out and bought the 8p, so far so good!!

M. Venli

April 17, 2017

Poor DSP, poor routing and no AES.

Im dissapointed in this device and i should have tested it before buying it. I was planning to use my twin as a volume control but the 8p Is lacking AES out so i cant use my genelec SAM monitors with the sub (aes only) and the volume control wont woork with the mirror routing option. I dig the pres and the plugins but the sharks wont deliver many plugins before maxing out. Im on the werge of going back to RME

A. Pfiffner

April 14, 2017

Great device for quality recording

Extremely pleased with the real time processing and unity capabilities of this device. It's expensive, but so worth it once you are able to commit. The plug-ins are top quality, easy to use, and extremely flexible. If you have the money to afford it this is the interface for you.

a. akkerman

March 28, 2017

Incredible love the Apollo 8p

Of course 8 Sharc DSP chips would be best (hint hint) but Totally happy with the unit so much i bought 2!!!! Keep up the innovation UA People!!

a. akkerman

March 28, 2017

Better than the original!

I didn't think there could be an improvement on the silver Apollo Duo but there has and I am very very pleased with the results thank you for making the most musical sounding interface around! and giving me great bang for buck results!!! So good I bought two Apollo 8ps'!

M. Vancraeyenest

March 22, 2017

Service is exceptionally professional !!!

Thanks Henry !

M. Vancraeyenest

March 22, 2017

Start to loving the Apollo 8P and Apollo Twin MKII.

This is my first UA purchase and I am very pleased. The Apollo 8P is an excellent audio DSP interface. The audio quality is excellent. Having a quad on-board DSP and a close to zero-latency effects applied to audio inputs on the fly (for plugins that support this) is fantastic.
Just starting a few trials with plugins and the sound is top shelf and really opens up possibilities to be creative.
This interface works perfectly with my MacPro using the Thunderbolt connections.
Just missing a second Thunderbolt connector on the Apollo Twin MkII quad. But there service is exceptionally professional !!!

B. Thal

February 23, 2017

Welcome to heaven.

I've waited to write this review so I could offer a more valuable opinion here. I could go on and on but I'll keep this efficient. The features of the Apollo 8p are amazing. The Unison technology really stands alone and can't be compared to any other hardware out there. This feature alone makes this box worth buying. Then look at the DSP, for the first time I can leave my computer's processor to manage other tasks. The ability to offload plugins processing is an astounding improvement on my workflow. The preamps in the Apollo 8p are fantastic even without a single plugin on the channel. I'm so happy to get immediately usable signal. The software user interface, "Console", is a pleasure to work in. It streamlines with my DAW and the Rec/Mon feature for printing with or without your plugs is so well executed. I can get close to a sound I'm looking for and track it, leaving me with even less to deal with on the processing side of things. I can also easily expand my system with another Apollo (or a Satellite as I already have) for more DSP and connectivity.This box is made to work for you, not against you. I find myself making music now without having to compromise because of my technology. To top it all off, UA is making the best plugs that anyone has ever heard. Thank you Universal Audio for this splendid device.

J. Holland

February 9, 2017

Excellent interface for the Late 2016 MacBook Pro with Thunderbolt 3

The Apollo 8P is an excellent auto interface. The audio quality is excellent. Having a quad on-board DSP and zero-latency effects applied to audio inputs on the fly (for plugins that support this) is really cool. This interface works perfectly with the Late 2016 MacBook Pro using the Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter.

61-80 of 132 Results