Get $299 in UAD plug-ins and instruments FREE through 2/29! Learn more ›

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

The UAD HolidAI Sale — save up to 75% storewide. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

There is a new version of this product, click here to see it.

Customer Reviews

Apollo 8p

Overall Rating

121-140 of 156 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Robinson

June 17, 2016

Big step up

I just started my first project with the Apollo 8P. My workflow speed has increased significantly with this interface and the associated plug ins that came with it. It took me a long time to save for it but it's felt well worth it. I'm only a couple of weeks in but the new-gear honeymoon might last awhile longer with this thing.

.

June 13, 2016

Love it top to bottom, but need better routing

I love it. I already owned a few of the emulation plugs and can a/b them with the UAD version. The SSl channel has much more depth, and the Comp is now usable. The box is great.: the sound of the pres, conversion (both ways), the hardware (switches, metering), the software (no driver issues).

The only issue is the lack of routing, specifically ear cues. My previous box (an RME unit) allowed one to send any ins to any outs. I (ignorantly) assumed a new technology like the UAD would by default include such a feature. Discovering a 4- cue max was quite a shock, almost enough to return the unit. I track larger bands, and not being able to have dedicated mixes for each player is a big problem.

A. Rizzo

June 2, 2016

Awesome A/D D/A. Great Plugs, Unison Pres V. Handy

After many years using interfaces from the likes of Echo, MOTU, RME, Focusrite and such, I overhauled our studios with a whole bunch of Apollos. They are now used heavily for both tracking and mixing on a daily basis. These are the best sounding interfaces I have ever used. AD/DA is superb, the latency free plugs on console a godsend, and the unison pre-amps are a very handy addition for shaping tone.

Am particularly loving the Unison Neve 8816 and 1073 Channel strips. If you cant afford a Neve console from the 70s, get one of these instead. Next best thing. :D

.

May 18, 2016

Apollo 8p

3000 doesnt worth apollo 8p ....there should be atleast complete ultimate bundle with it.....

B. Knight

May 12, 2016

UAD the Best Interface Ive Ever used!!!

I've made music since the days of OMS and OS9.
I have owned and used Avid, Motu, Apogee and many other brands of Audio Interface but have found my experience with UA a pleasure, not only the product but the service. The sound of the interface is amazing, transparent and flexible when necessary. The bonus of plugins running on the hardware, and their absolute quality made the Apollo an easy choice over other products on the market. The UAD was recommended to me as i was using Avid HD setup. After a few sessions with one, i wanted one!
As a vocalist, my main concern is a clean and warm line IN. Together with my Neuman TLM103 i was blow away by the sound i was able
to record. I very gd buy!!! I'm not getting paid to say this either lol

A. Zuege

May 7, 2016

Tried Others, Love The Apollo 8p

I used the silver face version Apollo a few years ago and loved it. Haven't had many "wow" experiences that rivaled that - mostly because I was upgrading from a Digi 002. A huge leap and sonic upgrade. Alas, I didn't stick with it because I came to realize the hidden costs of UAD DSP. In my next round of upgrades I decided to try the Antelope Orion Studio. A great machine, tons of I/O and crystal clear conversion, but man does that console app suck. Workflow killer. The digital menu was a subtle pain too. I returned it and went for the Apollo 8p. I couldn't be happier. I'm making more music. The console app is an A+, everything has a manual knob, and I've learned to limit my DSP expectations. It's a tease b/c UAD plugs are hands down best!

T. Joy

April 17, 2016

Unique, Hi Quality Solution for Music Production

A UAD interface is and should be the very first investment for anyone who is serious about doing music and/or audio professionally.
The quality of the hardware and software are unparalleled and remains unmatched till date. As someone who has used Neve 99RS, Euphonix System 5 and many other desks in the past, I find the quality of Apollo interfaces to be simply stellar.

My only 'complaint' so to speak is that I somehow imagined, expected getting more plugins for a quad processor.

L. Morawski

April 7, 2016

Apollo 8P - a fantastic peace of equipment

The best choice for a small studio, great sonding preamps, wonderful ADDA, cues, and ofcourse unison plugins that make this an awesome multitool :)

j. dee

March 18, 2016

LEAN MEAN AND NOT TOO FAR BETWEEN

History. Play/d in bands/write for other people/spiritually guide folk. Recorded all over the world from pissy basements to abbey road. Love tape/shitty mics/busted guitars. Budgets disappear,no more abbey road more coronation street.[For my U.S. friends thats no more Silverlake but more The valley]. Still fuck em,i can make music from dustbins cause I'm different,I'm not like the rest of you on this forum, so I'm happy.Must think. UAD 8p arrives. No more compatibility charts for months/there's knobs/switches/sounds cool/easy to use. More time for making art and less gawping@a screen/more time to look into artists eyes and suck there best work out of them. For 3g's job done. I don't need UAD, they don't need me,but we are good together

j. dee

March 18, 2016

LEAN,MEAN AND NOT TO FAR BETWEEN.

My history. In bands,songwriter,start writing for other people,some famous and some not. Worked all over the world in pissy basements to abbey road,its all good for me. Love tape,love shitty microphones,busted guitars and prefer a non easy time of it. Budgets disappear no more abbey road but more coronation street.[For my American friends no more Silverlake but more the Valley]. Fuck em,i still make music from dustbins so I'm happy. Think long,UAD 8p comes. No more compatibility charts for days/there's knobs/switches/. Sounds good/easy to use/more time to write and less time gawping@a screen. Take it all over the world. Im in control again. For 3g's job done,but i hope I'm never content.

C. Gill

March 16, 2016

Needs More DSP

First of all, the Apollo 8p sounds incredible! Routing and integration into my existing rig were a breeze. HOWEVER… for $3K, the DSP is lacking BIG time! At 96kHz, I get a Unison plugin, and one… maybe two additional plugins on each channel before the processor is maxed. Now try adding Ocean Way or AKG verb to an aux and real trouble hits! I was looking to start recording/mixing everything at 192kHz, but at that rate, I barely get Unison plugins on each channel before the Apollo 8p processor overloads. It's like UA made the Apollos just to wet your appetite so you have to spend more money on their satellite DSP accelerators.

M. Ortner

March 6, 2016

Great Gear

Sounds amazing! Thank You!

M. Kenyon

March 4, 2016

Pro Recording Studio & Mobile Solution

I just upgraded from an Apollo 8 Duo to the 8p Quad because I found I wanted the extra pre's and cores. After 6 years working in studios and years of working in audio retail, I've found something that works for me. The unison preamps do a flawless job of recreating some of my favorite gear from studios past and present. Additionally, unlike any 1073 or interface I've ever owned, the Apollo 8P is rock solid from a design perspective.

M. Vila Nova

February 27, 2016

Speechless!

I've been using UAD products for a decade now. This tells you how much I appreciate their products. I Own an Apollo Quad (Silver), an Apollo 16 (Black) and now an Apollo 8P... What can I say? Unison ROCKS!

A. Yeats

February 26, 2016

Game changer for me!

As a drummer the 8 unison pres are a godsend! Have them on the kik, snare, toms, OH's and mono room mic.

Redid a session that I had previously done on a RME interface and the difference was amazing....night and day!

Depth, wartmh but superb clarity and detail, sounded like a record straight away with only basic processing!

H. Varvoglis

February 8, 2016

Great multi-tool with big sound

I'm exited with my Apollo 8p,
It's a great converter with amazing clear and detailed sound,
The unison pres are very clear and works great with the plugins, I know how the Neve 1073 hardware sounds and I'm amazed how an emulation can sound so good.
The routing from UA console with the DAW and vice versa is very flexible and gives a lot of possibilities of how you like to work.
The only downside I can find is that the XLR inputs at the back are used only for mics, and if you want to use them as Line ins you have to connect a balance or unbalance jack, so it's not so practical especially if you have a patchbay or/and if your rack is not so easy accessible at the back.

M. Dennis

January 21, 2016

PERFECT!

A fantastic piece of kit once again from UAD. I've used a UAD-2 Satellite for nearly 3 years now and love it… this takes my setup to another level! Thanks UAD. (Looking forward to the free additional UAD-2 Sat arriving soon too - that basically made my decision!)

G. Leute

January 19, 2016

Beyond my expectations!

This piece of gear is the best sounding interface I have ever used. I highly recommend purchasing one for your own studio!

R. Lopez

December 30, 2015

Great Idea, Slow execution

After some time with this unit I have come to the conclusion that it is a little hyped. First I would like to say that it sounds really good. The plug-ins are a better emulation than waves. The GUI are nice looking but, picking settings is a little frustrating. Also, I experience pops and clicks, minor lag when ran at 92k with 256 sample buffer (I have a decent new macbook and I'm running Ableton Live) Honestly, my little NI Komplete Audio 6 ran smoother. The biggest disappointment for me is of course that you max out real fast using 8 mic pre's along with plug-ins. I had 4 mic's with Neve pre amps and comps on each channel and that was too much for tracking. If you got the money and it's no big deal then this unit is a cool buy.

C. Kohl

December 29, 2015

Happy with my investment.

This was the biggest studio purchase that I have ever made. I bought it for many reasons... The DSP, the amount of inputs, the sample rate capabilities, the headphone routing flexibility, alternate monitor options, and so much more. I've had the chance to work with this unit in my project studio now for a full month and I am quite pleased with my purchase. It has paid for itself this month in the ease of use in my sessions. Thanks again.

121-140 of 156 Results