EP-34 Tape Echo

EP-34 Tape Echo

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

EP-34 Tape Echo

Overall Rating

41-60 of 301 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

UAD User

February 20, 2018

Long live the tape echo!

Stunning great! Cool Dub echoes, weird effects, warm distortion...sounding and reacting like real tape echoes!
How might this be as an unison plug in?

b. gabrielli

February 20, 2018

dubwise

excellentissime

R. Olivier

February 16, 2018

Near the real tape-echo

Sound engineer for CrossAngel:
The album "INTERSTITIUM" has been fully treated with UAD2 in 2017.
Lexicon 224 Digital Reverb and EP-34 Tape Echo give amazing sound for the mix then Precision Multiband, Studer A800, Fairchild 670 Legacy and SPL TwinTube for the mastering. Effective tools that helped keep the analog sound throughout the project.Thanks!

M. Cole

February 14, 2018

Almost Perfect. Almost.

I don't need to say much about what it does right. If you've owned an Echoplex, then you will appreciate how accurate the model is. I have only two critiques to offer:

The only area in which the model deviates from the real thing is in the behavior that occurs when you slide the record head toward the play head (decreasing delay time) faster than the speed of the virtual tape. With a real Echoplex, if you quickly slide the record head faster than the tape speed, until its movement is stopped immediately by the play head, then you will not hear the pitch of the recorded material rise, either during or after the slide. You will only hear the delay time instantly change. On the model, you always get a rise in pitch at the end of the slide, regardless of tension setting and slide speed.

Example: If, on a real Echoplex, you have the delay set at 480ms and input a constant-pitch tone, then crank the regeneration and kill the input, you will have a 450ms regeneration loop of a stable pitch. If you then slide the record head as fast as you can until it hits the play head (which instantly decelerates the record head speed to zero), you will hear no significant pitch change. What you will hear is the same stable tone, but with a shorter loop of around 50ms. The last 400ms of the loop are discarded, as the record head overwrites the data, but there is no significant upward pitch change glitch. There will always be a minor glitch, but nothing as drastic as the model presents.

My other comment would be the lack of delay times shorter than a real Echoplex can offer. UA has offered delay times longer than that of a real Echoplex, but what I need more are delay times shorter than the real thing.

My main use of this plugin was the recreation of a "Hyperspace Pedal"; an Echoplex-based invention of Tom Scholz of the band Boston made famous on his recordings. This requires placing a switchable bandpass filter in the feedback loop of the Echoplex. The only way to access the feedback loop of the model is to regenerate externally to it, sending the signal from the UAD card back to the host, then back to the UAD card, and back to the host, for every regeneration cycle. The added latency (even with a 32 sample buffer) noticeably increases the period of the feedback loops at minimum delay times. Having delay times shorter than the real thing would eliminate this problem. An accurate Hyperspace Pedal model also requires the pitch to remain unchanged when the delay time is very quickly changed to minimum. The EP-34 is still the only digital emulation that can come close enough to the Echoplex's true behavior to make a digital Hyperspace Pedal possible. But the real Echoplex does behave a bit differently under this specific manipulation.

-. Trips

January 15, 2018

One Trick Pony (but what a trick it is!)

This thing instantly gets me into 60s-70s territory without a fight. Yet another reason I love most UA plugins, because they are so easy to quickly dial in, so I can spend more time creating, and less time tweaking to get where my head is telling me I need to go.

I put off buying this one for a while, even after several times with the demo because I have SO many delays. My go to delay is Echo Boy, like many other ppl, but I just found it alot more cumbersome to get that classic EP34 sound from Echo Boy. Its possible to get there, but takes tweaking, and again. I wanna spend my time creating! This thing is kind of a one trick pony, but its excellent at that one trick, and not as easy as you might think performing that trick with other delays! And its almost ALWAYS on sale lol. Just buy it already!

E. Halterman

January 13, 2018

One of the best Tape echos out there!

Love it! Vibe me up some tape echo on a platter please!

J. Jansen

January 10, 2018

Brilliant

By now, I have plenty of delays that sound right - this one. for whatever reason, also feels right and tends to end up in every mix I do.

S. Shogren

December 2, 2017

Great!

What a versatile tool! Oh yeah... and it does delay stuff too!

Y. REBILLARD

November 29, 2017

Superbe emulation

Un achat qu'on ne regrette pas.Point.

D. Pierce

November 14, 2017

Awesome plugin!

I used this on a lot of my ambience background busses. Now I use it on single instruments and that's where it shines. Very versatile the EP=34 Tape Echo is, and it can self oscillate

D. HWANG

October 15, 2017

Realy Good Sound!

Very Good Sound!
The Sounds are Warm and Classic!!
I Never Regret Buy This Delay

S. Margelisch

October 4, 2017

Pängs!

Für mich ein absoluter Traum! Danke!

S. Tanner

October 2, 2017

Good Tape Echo

It is a good Tape Echo like the original Echoplex. But at the end I like the Galaxy a bit more with the features. But very nice on Electric Pianos and so.

J. Vegna

September 10, 2017

A must have for any rock mixer

Awesome reverb and or delay and or special FX. Automating the time and feedback makes it go wild. And just ad an extra instance for stereo effects. I love it!

G. Miller

September 4, 2017

Lush AF

PHAT, SEXY, VOLUPTUOUS

k. sivasankar

September 2, 2017

EP-34 Tape Echo

Wow ! I have an arsenal of Tape delays , but this thing blows all of them out of the water. Fantastic Job UA.

R. Marant

August 29, 2017

ES GENIAL!!!- IT'S GREAT !!!

Universal audio has nailed the sound, a sound, that of a well-maintained EP-3 / EP-4. The driveway, tape replay and equalization are fantastic, as well as the way it saturates and distorts, it's great, it needs to be heard to appreciate it. It is an essential tool.

R. Marant

August 29, 2017

ES GENIAL!!!- IT'S GREAT !!!

Universal audio has nailed the sound, a sound, that of a well-maintained EP-3 / EP-4. The driveway, tape replay and equalization are fantastic, as well as the way it saturates and distorts, it's great, it needs to be heard to appreciate it. It is an essential tool.
Universal audio ha clavado el sonido, un sonido, el de un EP-3 / EP-4 bien mantenido. El camino de entrada de la unidad, la repetición de la cinta y el ecualización son fantásticos, así como la forma en que satura y distorsiona , es genial , necesita ser escuchado para apreciarlo. Es una herramienta insprescindible .

S. Connor

August 28, 2017

Master bus sparkle !

I used this on my final mix and master bus to lift the high end without affecting the eq. Great results and very versatile plug in . Gave my final mix a commercial radio friendly shine 10/10

R. Marant

August 26, 2017

Es maravilloso...!!!

Es el delay de cinta que tuve hace años y hoy UAD me da la oportunidad de poder volver a trabajar con esta maravilla de herramienta. Estoy muy satisfecho ¡¡ Es imprescindible!! en mi caja de herramientas sonaras.

41-60 of 301 Results