EP-34 Tape Echo

EP-34 Tape Echo

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

EP-34 Tape Echo

Overall Rating

41-60 of 313 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

UAD User

September 10, 2018

Return in 70s

Great analog sound, very glad to buy it. I use on guitars and voices, Amazing.

J. Jordanov

September 3, 2018

This thing is a killer!

Absolutely awesome plugin! Works and sounds like the real thing. Thanks UA!

D. Perini

September 3, 2018

EP-34 è fantastico!

Sono contento di averlo acquistato... ha un sound veramente caldo, analogico... è diventato subito uno dei preferiti!

E. Bonbon

July 11, 2018

So Great !!!

I finally understood how some giants of the past built some unbelievable effects, besides it's quite intuitive

T. Engel

July 8, 2018

Super analoges Verhalten

Spitzen Plug von UAD, wie immer....super Effekt.....prima für Automation

C. Mayr

June 14, 2018

a breeze of analog and vintage

I use it especially for vocals and guitars and the handling is really easy for perfect results !

j. van den berghe

May 21, 2018

Amazing sounding delay!

I am really enjoying this one. I use it on guitar a lot, the tape effects are great.
I even find it easier to use than the space echo sim plugin UA makes.
Love the tape swells it makes.
Now if only UA would add some midi control to console!

G. Loretti

May 15, 2018

Best echo ever

The best echo machine recreated on the best echo plugin

A. Kuehne

May 15, 2018

Spitzen tape delay

Sehr gut klingendes Delay und wer bekommt schon die Hardware Version zu dem Preis??

O. Konvicka

April 9, 2018

Very creative Tape Echo

Easy, creative, beautiful color ... Thanks UAD!

H. Zimmerman

April 2, 2018

I tried all the tape echo's -> this is the winner for me

Exactly, what can one say that hasn't already been said? I wanted an analog sounding tape delay and this - for me - is the clear winner. It is such an adventurous machine. Especially if, like me, you're into designing sounds and soundscapes, this is a lovely companion. It's a bit like the AKG Spring reverb; once you have it, you find all kinds of uses for it and there is no going back. But see for yourself. Demo all the tape delays. You're gonna love this one, which is a marriage of ease of use and great sounding delay.

B. McDade

March 22, 2018

EP is EPic!

Awesome... buy it

UAD User

February 20, 2018

Long live the tape echo!

Stunning great! Cool Dub echoes, weird effects, warm distortion...sounding and reacting like real tape echoes!
How might this be as an unison plug in?

b. gabrielli

February 20, 2018

dubwise

excellentissime

R. Olivier

February 16, 2018

Near the real tape-echo

Sound engineer for CrossAngel:
The album "INTERSTITIUM" has been fully treated with UAD2 in 2017.
Lexicon 224 Digital Reverb and EP-34 Tape Echo give amazing sound for the mix then Precision Multiband, Studer A800, Fairchild 670 Legacy and SPL TwinTube for the mastering. Effective tools that helped keep the analog sound throughout the project.Thanks!

M. Cole

February 14, 2018

Almost Perfect. Almost.

I don't need to say much about what it does right. If you've owned an Echoplex, then you will appreciate how accurate the model is. I have only two critiques to offer:

The only area in which the model deviates from the real thing is in the behavior that occurs when you slide the record head toward the play head (decreasing delay time) faster than the speed of the virtual tape. With a real Echoplex, if you quickly slide the record head faster than the tape speed, until its movement is stopped immediately by the play head, then you will not hear the pitch of the recorded material rise, either during or after the slide. You will only hear the delay time instantly change. On the model, you always get a rise in pitch at the end of the slide, regardless of tension setting and slide speed.

Example: If, on a real Echoplex, you have the delay set at 480ms and input a constant-pitch tone, then crank the regeneration and kill the input, you will have a 450ms regeneration loop of a stable pitch. If you then slide the record head as fast as you can until it hits the play head (which instantly decelerates the record head speed to zero), you will hear no significant pitch change. What you will hear is the same stable tone, but with a shorter loop of around 50ms. The last 400ms of the loop are discarded, as the record head overwrites the data, but there is no significant upward pitch change glitch. There will always be a minor glitch, but nothing as drastic as the model presents.

My other comment would be the lack of delay times shorter than a real Echoplex can offer. UA has offered delay times longer than that of a real Echoplex, but what I need more are delay times shorter than the real thing.

My main use of this plugin was the recreation of a "Hyperspace Pedal"; an Echoplex-based invention of Tom Scholz of the band Boston made famous on his recordings. This requires placing a switchable bandpass filter in the feedback loop of the Echoplex. The only way to access the feedback loop of the model is to regenerate externally to it, sending the signal from the UAD card back to the host, then back to the UAD card, and back to the host, for every regeneration cycle. The added latency (even with a 32 sample buffer) noticeably increases the period of the feedback loops at minimum delay times. Having delay times shorter than the real thing would eliminate this problem. An accurate Hyperspace Pedal model also requires the pitch to remain unchanged when the delay time is very quickly changed to minimum. The EP-34 is still the only digital emulation that can come close enough to the Echoplex's true behavior to make a digital Hyperspace Pedal possible. But the real Echoplex does behave a bit differently under this specific manipulation.

-. Trips

January 15, 2018

One Trick Pony (but what a trick it is!)

This thing instantly gets me into 60s-70s territory without a fight. Yet another reason I love most UA plugins, because they are so easy to quickly dial in, so I can spend more time creating, and less time tweaking to get where my head is telling me I need to go.

I put off buying this one for a while, even after several times with the demo because I have SO many delays. My go to delay is Echo Boy, like many other ppl, but I just found it alot more cumbersome to get that classic EP34 sound from Echo Boy. Its possible to get there, but takes tweaking, and again. I wanna spend my time creating! This thing is kind of a one trick pony, but its excellent at that one trick, and not as easy as you might think performing that trick with other delays! And its almost ALWAYS on sale lol. Just buy it already!

E. Halterman

January 13, 2018

One of the best Tape echos out there!

Love it! Vibe me up some tape echo on a platter please!

J. Jansen

January 10, 2018

Brilliant

By now, I have plenty of delays that sound right - this one. for whatever reason, also feels right and tends to end up in every mix I do.

S. Shogren

December 2, 2017

Great!

What a versatile tool! Oh yeah... and it does delay stuff too!

41-60 of 313 Results