Ocean Way Studios

Ocean Way Studios

$349.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$349.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ocean Way Studios

Overall Rating

1-20 of 735 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 37

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Loureiro

January 17, 2022

Sound like the Pros environment

The Room the i was waiting for a long time to put drums sound like the Pros. not everyone can record in great studios with great rooms , and now with this plugin, mixing drums, strings even keys, like if they were recorded in a good environment its like be in another level...

n. binns

January 15, 2022

Impressive

Impressive space. Really lovely bit of kit.

G. Merino

January 15, 2022

Great room! But..

Increíble useful plugin. You can create amazing spaces in your mixes. I use a lot on drums, but you can put anything on it.
Unfortunately, the GUI is not up to the sound, is tinny, old and low resolution.
UAD please update your graphics and make them resizable, we’re in 2022!

R. Cremasco

January 14, 2022

I’m a believer

I really thought this plugin was a waste of time. Tried a few times and never loved it. Last time I tried it on an aux and spent proper time and attention. I fell in love. This is not a reverb plugin but a room plugin. I love tracking with it now and use it on every mix.

B. Hamann

January 11, 2022

Amazing!

I especially love what it does on keys, synhs or strings. Recommendation!

UAD User

January 11, 2022

My new short reverb!

It's rare to hear a room emulation with a short punchy sound which also sounds authentic, but this plugin delivers exactly just that. Fantastic!

T. Taivalaho

January 7, 2022

Ocean Way 2 go

Naturally best in high class! Easy to use in bus reverb. Thanks again!

R. Little

January 6, 2022

Wow

I've used a lot of plugins, but never one quite like this. In remic mode, the quality of the mic emulations alone is worth the price of admission. The ambience of the room is superb and can be dialed in a number of different ways. Really special.

M. De Carolis

January 6, 2022

infinite potential

If you want to discover the best UAD Plugin the Ocean Way Studios is the best.
It had an infinite potential, you can do what no one else can give you.
You can create the sound of the ocean way studios simply with a plugin. if you don't believe it, you just have to try.

A. Link

January 5, 2022

Don't know of anything that comes close

I haven't bothered using my UAD plugins in a while because I have so many good native alternatives and I didn't feel like bringing my Apollo Twin with me when I was traveling. But recently I put OWS on a plucked instrument performance and I just could NOT find a way to get any combination of plugins to perform as well as this one. I am using the re-mic mode on a very close mic setting with a bit of the other mics blended in. I tried using various EQ, compression, then Liquidsonics 7th Heaven which I do love but it just would not sound as natural. I think the scary thing about this plugin is that in remic mode it does SO much to your sound and in some cases if it doesn't work you can't really be too surprised - it completely transforms the sound - but when it does work it does it much more naturally than a combination of lots of plugins and EQ. You might be surprised how much it changes the sound in remic mode and think “dang isn’t that adding some phase issues or some harshness? what is this thing doing!?” but as soon as you start trying to emulate the effect with other plugins you get an even more artifact-heavy result. What I love especially about remic mode is that it compresses the sound in a very natural way unlike any compressor I have ever used, and most importantly it adds the depth to the sound of the room in a way that even 7th Heaven can't do. 7th Heaven would be my first choice if I just wanted my sound to stay exactly as is but add a bit of room ambience around it, but for anything where I'm not 100% sold on the balance of the recording OWS is worth a shot.

One thing I realized that is crazy is that while there are probably some things going into this plugin that are not IR based, in the end the actual plugin seems to be mostly an IR generator. Clearly IR's are more useful than anyone ever knew - but you obviously can't just expect to take them from an actual room and get the right result - the magic here is in the IR that UA has generated for the attack on remic mode. So they must have spent a ton of time researching how to build EXTREMELY realistic and useful IRs for this remic mode. I love other reverbs for what they do but nothing comes close to this. I know it was a lot of work but this is the #1 thing UA has done in my experience.

Also people on forums and elsewhere will say you can do the same thing in Altiverb. Well yes Altiverb is an IR player and has some incredible rooms, some of which probably sound better than OWS on many things, but the issue is Altiverb hasn’t tackled the completely artificial programming of these early reflection remic impulses that are generated on the fly as you move the mic around. I mean this is just so much more useful than Altiverb because I can frankly use any algorithmic or decent reverb to get a really good tail and dispersion of sound. The thing that is nearly impossible to do is replace these early reflections as if you actually recorded the sound there. Whatever UA did to measure them isn’t something other companies have seemed to tackle at all.

J. Manning

January 3, 2022

Very Nice

Place your instrument in a room. Sounds great.

S. Collins

January 3, 2022

Remarkable!

Captures room ambiance with tone shaping using different mics and EQ options. Re-mic mode plus reverb mode. You would have to work hard to not dial in a nice natural sound.

F. Jessen

December 27, 2021

The Room!

Grab it!

J. Foster

December 24, 2021

Magic!

Take your dreadful flat sounding DI'd acoustic, try to salvage it with EQ as best you can, then output to a stereo bus and re-mic it with OWS - just first 2 mics (OWR A - Guitar is good) , close as you can then split them left and right - unbelievable. Worth it for this alone.

c. maskell

December 10, 2021

Awesome

Adds depth and realism.

C. Thompson

December 8, 2021

OWS is a game changer

I did the 14 day demo with Ocean Way Studios and my first thought was it was just ok. I took a drum track from LPX and “put” the drums into Studio A which was a light bulb moment! OWS made those drums come alive and I could hear nuances in the drum track I had never heard before. Right then and there I understood how great OWS is. It works so well with everything I have used it on Guitar, Vocals and Piano. It’s a sonic game changer!

R. Walsh

December 8, 2021

You have to try

I suggest you at least try the demo. Nothing is perfect but this plugin is perfect sometimes. I use Groove Agent for my drums and percussion. Ocean Way makes them sound real. Not all the time but when Ocean Way works there is no substitute.

A. Reverberi

November 12, 2021

Outstanding

Even better than I thought

V. De Puydt

November 12, 2021

Easy to use / Great sound

Nice tool to create space around your "dried recorded" instruments and voice / Cohesion between digital instruments (drums) and much more :)

S. Tydeman

November 9, 2021

In LOVE

Simply a really nice and beautiful sounding plugin! Heads up - it is DSP heavy.

1-20 of 735 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 37