SSL® 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

SSL® 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

SSL 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

Overall Rating

81-98 of 98 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

b. berkovic

June 1, 2017

Fantastic

Glue on the best possible way, great update Uad Team

P. Perfetto

May 31, 2017

Drastic sound difference on the legacy model

I used the original legacy model all the time, and when UA updated this I tried it and immediately purchased it. This sounds so clear, without distortion, and adds the SSL color from the console. There are a lot of emulations of the SSL 4000, this is definitely, the best representation. Also the presets are super easy to use!

b. st john

May 31, 2017

sounds like old times...

as much as I loved the original UA SSL plug-in (to be honest, I loved it so much I sold my prized SSL G384 hardware) this is an absolute joy. that sound I remember the first time I used an SSL 4000 E (yes, I'm that old) warm, punchy and with a vibe that is instantly recognizable. heck, I nearly smell the console! The side chain filter is an amazing extra feature as well...Another brilliant port from the smartest guys in the digital world...if you loved the original console (and used it) you will not be disappointed. and if you never had the pleasure to use one? THIS is what an SSL sounds like.

R. Yuen

May 31, 2017

Nice !

I've only used it twice, on mixing. Both times I just used it on the drums-mix (in a group) and really like it. Will try it on other instruments later, but so far I'm happy. Worth the money - highly recommended.

i. zhirnov

May 31, 2017

Best of the best!!!

Best of the best!!!

G. Nicholls

May 30, 2017

Stunning!!

Wow, what can I say?
I loved the legacy version and I hoped UA would add the SC filter, it's a godsend!
I regulraly used the hardware for many years but haven't been able to get that real G-buss 'crack' until this plug in!! Love it!!

S. Kirkland

May 30, 2017

The 4000 is so warm, natural and sounds authentic!

I'm thrilled with the authentic robust sound I'm get with UAD's SSL 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection. If I owned the hardware I'd put up for sale. But since I don't.... Thank You UAD! You hit another home run!

L. Dodds

May 29, 2017

Ex Waves User

Ive been a fan of the SSL G bus compressor ever since using it on a Series 500 module and have been using the Waves one ever since. However, the waves one never quite sounded the same. This version on the other hand is by far the closest to the real thing out there!

UAD User

May 22, 2017

Oh my

Just wow.

F. Brant Campos

May 22, 2017

Don't try the demo!

Seriously, you'd be down $299 very quickly. And if you don't have the money to spend, you'll be scrapping for it in the most improbable places! I did extensive tests comparing this plugin to other emulations or even different bus compressor plugs but nothing comes even remotely close to this one. The low-end definition is stunning, it holds the foundation tight as can be, adding a ton of weight without compromising the mix. This thing is the glue master in plugin form, its beyond words. On top of it all, it is an improvement over the original as it has a SC filter and a mix knob in it. This could be the start of a new era for ITB mixing, at least to my humble ears, as digital is finally starting to catch up with analog. I know it is just a matter of time (forget about the nostalgia) and I long for the day it happens. What I also know is that UA has certainly stepped up the game another level (again)! Thx guys!

K. Kumaraguruparan

May 21, 2017

Jaw-Dropping

I know I what I am about to say will be considered heresy among SSL 4000G board users. However, here goes. The end to end circuit replication of the G Bus Compressor is impeccable. I can genuinely say for the FIRST time in Plugin History, the Three Dimensionality of analog gear has been thoroughly replicated. In my eyes, it was the 3D feeling that analog gear imparted on a mix that still made it worth the money. Now, however, at least when it comes to bus compression, there is no need to purchase an outboard SSL Compressor, because not only does this plug-in literally mimic every quirk of its analog counterpart, but also IMPROVES on the design so as to making it a superior product when compared to the original. It gives a new definition to the "SSL Knock" as it makes your mix knock harder than any real ssl buss compressor could.

A. Elliott

May 21, 2017

Incredible

^^^ enough said !!! ^^^ TRY THE DEMO ASAP

R. Keller

May 20, 2017

UNBELIEVABLE!

This plug in destroys all other emulations. Punch, power, definition, grit, imaging - this is a WINNER what an amazing job, THANK YOU!

R. Douglass

May 20, 2017

Wow!

The previous version was pretty awesome, but after playing with the new updated release, all I can say is wow! I find it a lot easier to dial-in the right amount of threshold when working with drums. The new side-chain feature is extremely useful, I cant imagine the SSL 4000 without it now. Also, the VU meter appears to respond more accurately.

K. McClure

May 19, 2017

SEXUAL EXPERIENCE

At this point SSL gear in particular must be the most emulated of all time... it seems that any software designer that models analogue gear has their piece of the "market-share". Truth is, I think I've become a bit numb to it. Cynical even. Did the world really need ANOTHER SSL plugin/update?

Yup.

In my opinion this latest iteration of the buss compressor by UA is simply stunning. I spent the better part of a decade on an SSL desk with the buss compressor central to my workflow. If I close my eyes I can hear the that unit. To my ears this plug has absolutely captured the sound at it's very essence. The behavior is right... the harmonics sound right... the transients feel right. Disengage the compression and the subtle "sweetening" of SSL circuitry is there.

It's not just getting the "thwack" on drums that convinced me, the real "tell" I look for is in the vocal sheen/added definition as well as the stereo field information and overall "excitement".

All this with added controls not available on the desk. Many times I fantasized about having a side chain filter on the built in unit.

Yes. The world needed this plug in update. I am astonished by the craftwork here and re-inspired by the concept of an SSL signal chain in the box.

Somewhere in the dark recesses of Universal Audio, there is a Captain Ahab celebrating having slain a white whale. I'm now another one of those saps finishing a gushing review with those fateful words...

Thanks UA!

A. Pesic

May 17, 2017

Am I dreaming ?

Put this baby and listen to it. I ve never heard anything like it. EVer.

P. Moshay

May 16, 2017

It's true!

Its so true how this compressor can glue your mix together! Nobody can say anything about this compared to the hardware, i can compare myself and can go either way now without any hesitation. Thanks so much UA!

P. Allen

May 16, 2017

My go to just got better!

I'm so happy to see an impressive update to the SSL G.

81-98 of 98 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5