Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Teletronix® LA-2A Leveler Collection

Overall Rating

21-40 of 757 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Kramer

June 15, 2013

TECHNICOLOR SOUNDS FOR YOUR AUDIO PALETTE

The previously released 1176 Collection was just the beginning. if you think UAD outdid themselves with that innovative release, prep yourself for the LA-2A Collection, which trumps the 1176 the same way a finely tuned vintage Jaguar bests a new one any day of the week. Each one of these 3 new plugins offers a substantial array of audio hues and colours that (if properly used) can offer a whole new universe of possibilities for those who found the long-available LA-2A plugin indispensable. if you can't live without your your LA-2A, then you're going to die of happiness when you hear these new emulations. I honestly feel like i've died and gone to heaven and found a room full of vintage LA-2A's waiting there for me. anything's possible now.

M. Kramer

June 15, 2013

TECHNICOLOR SOUNDS FOR YOUR AUDIO PALETTE

The previously released 1176 Collection was just the beginning. if you think UAD outdid themselves with that innovative release, prep yourself for the LA-2A Collection, which trumps the 1176 the same way a finely tuned vintage Jaguar bests a new one any day of the week. Each one of these 3 new plugins offers a substantial array of audio hues and colours that (if properly used) can offer a whole new universe of possibilities for those who found the long-available LA-2A plugin indispensable. if you can't live without your your LA-2A, then you're going to die of happiness when you hear these new emulations. I honestly feel like i've died and gone to heaven and found a room full of vintage LA-2A's waiting there for me. anything's possible now.

G. Piazza

March 16, 2013

Good but more subtle than the 1176 updates

These are not the breakthrough plugins the new 1176 collection is. They are good, but the two early models are a bit dark, laggy and almost muddy. There is variety, but less useful variety than the 1176 collection.

The Silver is good, but it is not far from the earlier LA2a plugin. The differences are somwewhat subtle. A little thicker and a tad slower. The Limiter mode is better; more useful than the original plugin and more like the Hardware - this is the real winner.

I've only worked with the Silver hardware, so I can't comment on how the other two hardware units sound - probably dark, laggy and a tad muddy! They were early 50's units after all!

C. Soulos

February 25, 2013

Fat and Friendly

The is something going on at UAD that makes me a very happy little Vegemite.
I've always been envious what the hardware did to the sound that was falling short in the original digital LA2A plug in that these new releases reconciled without a glitch.
Thank you UAD
Cheers
Christopher

J. Moreland

February 23, 2013

Yowzah !!

Now that's a fine piece of vintage analog gear! Had a sax player send me a solo he'd played into a clip on mic plugged in to his mbox (well played, just very little fidelity or dimensionality). Then I downloaded the UAD2 v6.5 software and started that LA-2A collection demo. Wow, what a difference 10 years makes. With that "Silver" version pushed hard, I swear I can hear the output transformer, tubes and maybe even the faint crackle of a bad patch cable. In that (formerly) lifeless track I can hear the bell of the sax. A tight bottom end that wasn't there before. This LA-2A has a slightly aggressive edge, a bite that makes tracks not just sit in a mix, but sit up straight and pay attention! Don't get me started on what it does for vocals.

D. Coleman

February 17, 2013

Feels Like Home

Shockingly dead on to the hardware ! Warm , Friendly, and feels like home ! Can't get over how accurate it is based on years of using the hardware.

D. Ralph

February 15, 2013

Very excellent

With these new versions i just jumped straight in and tried them at 96khz against my new UA hardware.
Thoughts.
Grayface
Closest to the hardware as far as attack and release goes, attack still a little sharp compared to hardware. Tone is beautiful, although it does tend to go a little thin at heavy compression.
Silver
More hifi, slower attack also i feel, not too keen TBH.
Original
attack is closest to my hardware, release is dog slow, tone is muted but warm.
UA HW reissue.
I have to compare it to this purely because it is a real la2a, IMO these plugs are great but i prefer my HW for tone and compression character, it doesn't suck life when hit hard like the plugs can, im not talking huge but its noticeable.
would get if didnt have HW
5/5

L. Lindley

March 13, 2013

Not worth it if you have the LA-2A already

Hey, it's probably just me, silly amateur home user that I am, but I'm really not impressed with the LA-2A Classic Collection. If I didn't already have the LA-2A, then sure, it would have been fine. But since I did already have (and love) the basic LA-2A plug-in, this has turned out to be a waste of money in my opinion. Unlike the 1176 Classic Collection, which I loved primarily because of the presets, this one seems to add nothing over the one I already had. I can't hear the difference between these units, and the presets -- which are few compared to the 1176 collection -- aren't really particularly helpful because the LA-2A is so simple to use to begin with. So, not a terrible plug-in, certainly, but not worth the money for me.

M. Vaz

January 14, 2014

LA-2A Collection

Just loved the new LA-2A Collection. Lots of different flavours of the Classic LA-2A. Used the old one in every mix and now even the old mixes sound better!

M. De

December 30, 2013

Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

do not try this plug !! i have tried the La-2A for one day and i have buy it immediately!
the better choice for my vocals, guitars bass ecc..
He make the difference .

R. Edwards

December 28, 2013

Classic analog sound.

I love these compressors I put them on everything, it's like hot sauce and food...it just goes well with everything. With little work my vocals stand out clean and clear while preserving the low end and warmth. No digital sound even when cranked. I would recommend these to anyone that records and engineers. Need these in your arsenal seriously.

B. Armand

May 12, 2013

hot sound

much more colored than the old UAD LA2A, thoose ones bring warmth, vibe, lively harmonic saturation. I usually use sonnox limiter and inflator, wich are nice for analog like saturation, but the new LA2A collection make things more irregular and more charming I think.. just used them on vocals, guitars(electric and acoustic) and bass, following the advices (gray or old one for vocals, silver for guitars). Sounds really get in front of the mix with thoose ones.

M. Halle

February 21, 2013

FINALLY HOME

Now we talk about emulations not only being a desperate alternative to the hardware but finally, its mate. THANK YOU UA!!!

N. Lifschey

June 14, 2013

These sounds absolutely beautiful, but I'm only giving two stars because...

...Universal Audio STILL refuses to join the 21st century and let us SEE the values as we change settings, and also to let us ENTER IN the values as we need to.

It's mind-boggling to me how ancient and far behind the times they are with this. Why hold on to a completely useless part of the past, guys? Maddening, and I won't be buying any more UA products until this changes. There are other options out there.

B. Joseph

February 23, 2013

The original la2a plug

I've used the hardware version, the original uad1 la2a and several newer third party emulation plugs. The fact that so many people speak so highly of the original plug in makes me question the amount of deaf "engineers" out there... The original LA2A plug is so bad and nowhere close to the real thing. I pray this revision sees some drastic improvement. The upgrade should be free for users who already have the originals.

P. Brezina

February 15, 2013

Big dissapointment

After 1176 revisions, I hope LA2A will be the same quality. But as I testing it against some other emulations, I found that there is not big difference and some compressors (for example Cakewalks PC2A) acts better even in extreme gain reduction settings. Emphasis screw works almost same as one on Cakewalks emulation. This is for sure not worth 149 dollars. I wish UA make revision MKIII as soon as possible. There is also not big difference between LA2, LA2A gery and silver. sounds almost same. there is only difference in gain staging so you can think it is different for the first time zou try it. Really shame UA, I know you can do much better...

D. Zore

February 17, 2013

d.zore

This compressor is extremely easy to make a beautiful sound.

K. Matzanke

November 17, 2017

A Classic

A must have in every mixing battery

D. Pierce

November 14, 2017

The ultimate leveler

Very nice sounding collection. I love the LA-2A!

a. zitto

November 10, 2017

What can I say!

Smooth, Nice & in your Face!!! You can't go wrong!

21-40 of 757 Results